The Things I Learn While I Research My Posts

I am hard at work writing the posts for the Blogging from A to Z Challenge which starts on Wednesday, and I have a couple that require I get a handle on a little astronomy. I learned some when I was in grammar school, and more in high school physics, where Mr. Heikkinen taught us Kepler’s laws of planetary motion, but I was looking specifically at information about the rotation of the earth and how it relates to daybreak and sundown. I thought I understood the whole thing about the Earth rotates on its axis as it revolves around the Sun, until I saw this video.

The Sun just isn’t sitting still with all of the planets revolving around it in an orderly fashion. No, it’s racing around the Milky Way at 70,000 kilometers per hour (about 43,500 miles per hour to us non-metric types), and, while the planets are trying their best to revolve around it, they’re being dragged along by the Sun and somehow keeping up with it. And, in a similar fashion, the Milky Way is racing around the Universe dragging the Sun and all the other stars dragging planets around them.

Anyone need Dramamine yet?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “The Things I Learn While I Research My Posts”

    1. It is. Just the size of the universe, and of all the stars in it, and how fast everything is moving…. and we don’t feel a thing. And I never thought of the paths of the sun and the planets and the galaxies tracing helixes and forming vortexes. Just incredible.

      Like

  1. I think I remember seeing somewhere that this was an artist’s perception of a research project, but it was not confirmed. Still, it’s a beautiful image, and at the very least, even if not scientific, a good philosophical video. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

