A’a (#atozchallenge)

Pāhoehoe_and_Aa_flows_at_Hawaii A’a and Pahoehoe (Source: Brocken Inaglory/Wikipedia)

A’a (pronounced “ah ah”) is the Hawai’ian word for one type of volcanic lava, specifically the kind that comes out as small rocks with jagged edges. It contrasts with pahoehoe, which is lava that comes out more as a flow, kind of like molasses; when it hardens, it looks like a cow patty. I have a friend who grew up in Hawai’i on the Big Island, and that’s what he told me, anyway. He said when he was a kid he picked coffee, and could walk on the a’a, despite it having sharp edges (his word was “crinkly”).

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

33 thoughts on “A’a (#atozchallenge)”

    1. I don’t think he was walking on the hot lava (but you probably knew that), but he said the a’a is sharp enough to cut your foot. How he managed to do it, I’ll never know.

      Like

  1. I have never encountered Lava but I would call it AAAAaaauuuuuugggHHHH . . . . I am leaping past as one of Mr B’s Ambassadors as I head down the list.

    Good Luck . . . I hope to return later in the alphabet

    Rob Z Tobor

    Like

  2. There are so many very specific words in the Hawaiian language, as in other indigenous languages. It seems that they have a word to describe every emotion and every single thing. Very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh this sounds really interesting. I had no idea about that (didn’t know much about lava to be honest). This is much more useful than my own post for A! I’ll check back later in the alphabet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

