Blob (#atozchallenge)

A BLOB, in the wonderful world of databases, is short for Binary Large OBject. Typically, a picture that you want to keep in a database, like an icon.

grade6
An example of a BLOB. Not me, the picture.

The Blob, on the other hand, was a 1958 movie that starred Steve McQueen and “an exciting cast of young people,” according to the trailer….

“Blob” was also a character on the kids’ shows developed for WFLD-TV in Chicago by Bill Jackson, Cartoon Town and The BJ and Dirty Dragon Show. Bill, generally known as BJ, was a multitalented artist, puppeteer and sculptor who could draw practically any cartoon character, in Magic Marker, on a flipchart, and who, on a regular basis (practically every day) sculpted Blob, an amorphous pile of clay that was the town’s monument, into whatever Blob said he wanted to be. Well, not quite “said”… more like grunted and made goofy noises. Here BJ turns Blob into “Wilbur the Wonder Horse.” I have no idea what the story was behind what was going on in the first minute, or at several points during the sculpting of Blob, with the Count Weirdly-looking guy (the characters with him were Wally and Weird), but it’s not important.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

25 thoughts on “Blob (#atozchallenge)”

  1. My horror education is sorely lacking: I’ve never seen The Blob before, and most BLOBs are on the viewing end, not the programming one. I don’t think I’m ever going to look at an icon in quite the same way again.

    -Pax, (currently) 504 on the Blogging A-Z list

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your concept for B. I remember watching The Blob and wondering why everyone was so scared of it. That video was great! In the UK we had a clay man called Morph and the artist with him was Tony Hart. I loved that programme. He didn’t sculpt live though. It was all stop motion.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My Dad took the family to the drive in to see “The Blob”. I was terrified to go to the bathroom and concession later! Might be interesting to see it again. Binary Large Object for sure! Good one, John.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Who knew there are so many blobs! I’m almost ashamed to say I’ve never seen The Blob. We should watch it just for fun.

    Like

  5. The Blob will always remind me of my friend Tori who had to write a paper about it for a college course about monsters. I’d heard about it before, but she made me much more familiar.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I learned early in my youth the consequences of poking at unfamiliar gelatinous blobs with pointy sticks, or – even worse – reaching down to pick them up! I think I need a Blob Rewatch, both the original and the remake, to see if they still inspire the same level of horror in me. Thanks for the reminder, John! I look forward to reading your A to Z entries further! 😀

    Like

  7. Blob also describes how one might feel after a too-long, too-snowy, too-cold winter filled with too much couch time. Great word : ) Visiting from the A-Z today. Good luck with the alphabet!

    Like

    1. It’s like Jon Pertwee said when he was playing Doctor Who: there’s nothing too difficult about escaping the Daleks, just walk down stairs. With The Blob, I think it was that they were so “scared” that they couldn’t move.

      Like

Leave a Reply

