Fluff (#atozchallenge)

k2-_75f12cb6-6d67-431b-a732-47ffe78c592c.v1
A jar of Marshmallow Fluff (source: Walmart.com)

Fluff is a brand of marshmallow cream manufactured by Durkee-Mower, Inc. and sold at fine stores everywhere. It’s made of corn syrup, sugar syrup, vanilla flavor, and egg white. Most of the marshmallow Fluff is sold in the northeastern United States (marshmallow cream was invented in Massachusetts), but it’s also sold overseas in Scandinavia, Germany, the UK, Ireland, and Belgium.

Maybe the most popular use of Fluff is in a sandwich called a fluffernutter, like a peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwich but with Fluff substituting for the jelly. Here’s a commercial that gives the recipe.

In 2006, Massachusetts State Senator Jarrett Barrios proposed legislation that would restrict public schools from serving fluffernutters every day in their cafeterias. One of his colleagues, Massachusetts State Representative Kathi-Anne Reinstein, who represents the district where Fluff is made, promised to fight to the death for Fluff, and even proposed legislation naming the fluffernutter the official state sandwich of Massachusetts. That proposal was defeated twice. I can understand the concern, but maybe the Massachusetts legislature should ascertain why the schools are serving fluffernutters every day and make the necessary adjustments. Ya think?

The fluffernutter was less of a concern back in the 1960’s, when kids had parks to go to, alleys, parking lots, and abandoned buildings to explore, and sidewalks to walk (or run) on, and when you were thrown out of the house at 9 in the morning and told not to come home until dinnertime. Obesity was hardly a concern then. Maybe we need to get back to that…?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

61 thoughts on “Fluff (#atozchallenge)”

  1. Your point is well taken. And it’s only getting worse as every one is connected to their phones 24/7. I never have bought fluff but we do put mini marshmallows on our peanut butter sandwiches at times.

    Like

    1. I think marshmallows are cheaper than the Fluff is.

      Like I said, there was a time when the amount of sugar we were eating wasn’t that much of an issue, because we were burning it off right away. In fact, the boost to the metabolism from the sugar was probably good for us.

      If I had kids or grandkids, I’d be telling them to get into chiropractic and massage therapy, because we’re going to have a generation in serious need of them. All this bending over and cramping up to play with a phone is no good. I’m as bad as they are, and man, it’s murder.

      Like

  2. I agree that kids aren’t getting out and exploring as much as they used to, and that’s a big part of the problem. Also, our sugar intake as a nation has increased substantially, where the occasional fluffernutter treat is the kind of thing we seem to want at nearly every meal.

    Like

    1. I think food manufacturers need to get back to using good-quality ingredients, not that it’s going to happen. I’m sure that treats we had as kids weren’t as loaded up with sugar and other extenders as they are now. And we also need parents who say “no,” who refuse to buy the stuff except for special occasions.

      Like

    1. We’ve actually gotten to where Children’s Services get called when people see kids walking down the street. Really, we have kids in the neighborhood, but you’d hardly notice unless you happen to be there when the school bus is picking up or dropping off. When the pool is open down the street, you see some, but you rarely see them hanging around or throwing a ball around. The closest park to us is almost a mile away, and it’s not as though the kids can walk there, because there are no sidewalks they can walk on. I mean, we were out all the time, and when we weren’t, Mom was telling us to go out.

      Like

  3. I’ve never heard of it, don’t think it sounds good with peanut butter, way too sweet for me; but I am going to look the next time I’m at the store to see if it’s there and I’ve just never noticed.

    Like

    1. It might be in the baking aisle instead of with the peanut butter and jelly. I think the fluffernutter was an afterthought; it’s mostly used for baking and frosting cakes.

      Like

  4. Mom uses a jar of Fluff instead of a bag of marshmallows when she makes fudge. ๐Ÿ™‚ Her fudge isn’t like you’d find in the store, but we love it! Thanks, John, for this ramble down memory lane! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll see you around the A-to-Z!

    Like

      1. Strange as it may sound, we like when Mom’s fudge goes “wrong” and gets crystallized and crumbly. It doesn’t tend to do that so often when she uses Fluff, though. Then again, her “failures” are what we grew up with, and remain our comfort foods. “Oh, boy! Crunchy fudge, yay!”

        It’s okay, you can say it: we’re weird.

        Like

        1. We had a baking pan that was bent, and when we’d make brownies in it we’d end up with crunchy, thin brownies, and we loved it. My aunt, who’s not much older than I am, used to call it “brownie brittle.” Then another one of my aunts decided to “fix” the pan, and that was the end of that. I know what you’re talking about.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I have a confession: My friends and I actually tried to use this stuff to make a ginger bread house, once. It…. did not go well. In fact, it went deliciously wrong.

    <a href=”https://njmagas.wordpress.com/โ€œ>N J Magas, author

    Like

      1. Yup. The whole thing collapsed, trapping some poor gingerbread children in the process. I felt a momentary flush of guilt for cutting corners in our construction, then I ate the whole mess.

        Like

  6. Love the ultimate point that we are so stuck indoors these days. I’m so glad I was raised before handheld devices became stuck to our palms. I actually had a childhood! Although another reason so many kids are stuck indoors is that it’s more dangerous than it was when I was a kid. Not sure that it would be wise to kick the kids out the door at 9 am and not expect them back until hours later, without so much as knowing where they are! Those were the days!

    Like

    1. I think Mom might have been trying to get rid of us… I guess she figured, if we ended up a road pizza, the cops would call. Seriously, though, I would hate to be a kid these days.

      Like

  7. I’ve never heard of this product, but it sounds like it would be great with peanut butter. I love peanut butter and grind my own fresh at the stores here.

    I’m with you on the kids and exercise. They’re too busy playing on their electronic devices today and don’t spend enough time outdoors. There was no obesity problem when I grew up because we played outside all the time.

    Thanks for visiting my blog earlier today.

    Sunni
    http://sunni-survivinglife.blogspot.com/

    Like

    1. Now it’s almost like, if you send your kids out to play, you’re a bad parent. If you don’t know where your kids are every moment of the day, you’re neglecting them. If a kid acts like a kid and gets into mischief, the parents are to blame. If you’re not dragging your child from swimming to karate to ballet to soccer, you’re depriving your child. Kids need time to explore and experience the world without their parents around. And it doesn’t help that the kid needs a ride to a park and can’t walk to these places. That’s the modern suburb…

      Fresh peanut butter! Mmmmm….

      Like

      1. How about this; did you gather as a group of kids in your friends yard and yell at the house, “Can Suzy come out to play?”, never bothering to knock on the door? As the kid inside the house, I just couldn’t wait to hear my friends yell for me. Love it!

        Like

        1. Oh yeah. There’s a funny story about one of my brother’s friends walking into Mom’s bedroom, when she was still asleep, and waiting for her to wake up so he could ask if my brother could come out and play.

          Liked by 1 person

  8. Haven’t seen Fluff in our stores here in South Africa – maybe some of the fancier stores stock. I must check them out. It sounds delicious, good enough to eat out the jar. Though corn syrup? mmm, not sure on that one?

    Like

  9. I’ve never heard of Fluff. Love the occasional marshmallow, preferably toasted but not in a sandwich. Since we’re talking favourite fillings, for a treat my sandwiches have to have a handful of crisps (here’s where we get into language differences.. Maybe chips to you?) in them.
    Most of the children around here have access to a trampoline in their back gardens which I’d have loved. But I had my favourite hedge, the farmers field, the canal and local lanes with ponds to explore. It’s amazing I survived at all..

    Like

    1. My brother used to make potato chip sandwiches. My dad saw him and asked what it was, then when my brother told him, Dad said, “just don’t take it out of the house, okay?”

      There are various graphics and one-sheet funnies going around the Internet and on Facebook that basically say if you were a kid in the 1960’s or 1970’s, it’s a miracle you’re still alive. Some of the examples cited: our parents smoked, we drank water out of garden hoses, we rode bicycles without helmets, we walked everywhere and crossed busy streets, we climbed trees and occasionally fell out, we rode in the backs of pickup trucks or in the back seat of station wagons, we’d share soda by drinking it out of the same bottle, and on and on. Kids are deprived nowadays…

      Like

  10. I’ve heard of Fluff and Fluffernutter sandwiches, but never tried them . Good point about kids not getting enough exercise these days. Junk food like this doesn’t help. Why are they serving it in schools? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

    1. Fluff was invented in Massachusetts, and it’s a tradition, at least in parts of the state. Given some of the other cafeteria foods they serve, a fluffernutter might actually be an improvement.

      I have to think that this kind of food, while not especially good for you to begin with, has somehow gotten worse over the years: cheaper ingredients, changed formulas, packaging that might be leaching chemicals into the food…

      Like

    1. I didn’t see the part about sweet potatoes. One of the more traditional Thanksgiving side dishes is mashed sweet potatoes with marshmallows baked on top, so maybe it’s not so farfetched, but then the mashed sweets usually have brown sugar, cinnamon, and cloves added…

      Like

Leave a Reply

