Heath (atozchallenge)

You know what I never see in stores around here? Heath bars.

Heathbar

Maybe it’s not fashionable. I see lots of candy at the checkout counter at the grocery store, and you can always get a Snickers, a Milky Way, a Twix, a bag of Skittles, Twizzlers, Hershey bars, or Butterfinger, but I never see the Heath bar. Not even with all the candy in the candy aisle at Walgreens, Target, or anyplace else.

Maybe it’s an acquired taste. The wrapper tels it all: it’s English toffee covered by milk chocolate. It’s not soft and chewy, it’s hard and crunchy, but man, is it tasty. It was created by L. S. Heath, a schoolteacher who bought a candy store in Robinson, Illinois (in the southeast part of the state) for his sons, Bayard and Everett. When it opened, it was a combination candy store, ice cream parlor, and candy factory. This got the father interested in making ice cream, and soon he acquired an English toffee recipe from another candy manufacturer. He covered the bar with chocolate, and voila! The Heath bar was created.

Heath is currently manufactured by Hershey’s, who had come up with their own competing brand, the Skor bar, which they still sell. Hershey’s has discovered that people love the taste of the Heath bar, particularly when it’s sold as an ice cream topping, blended into ice cream, or is baked into cheesecakes and other baked goods. I get my Heath fix thanks to the Heath-flavored Klondike bars. They are, as I like to say, a mite tasty.

There are lots of candy bars that are no longer sold in stores, but that you can get online from sites such as OldTimeCandy.com. They have an incredible selection of candy from the 1920’s through today. While the general public’s taste in candy has changed (for example, you no longer see candy cigarettes or bubble gum cigars), some people still love the candy they grew up with. Of course, now there are concerns about kids getting fat and developing diabetes, which are genuine concerns. I mean, the Heath bar contains 210 calories, 110 of which come from fat, and they’re loaded with sugar and other things that are not especially good for just about everyone. But, as I said the other day, the heyday of the candy bar and other confections was in the days when kids were out playing every day, were walking to school, and weren’t sitting like lumps in front of the TV. (Yeah, like I’m one to talk…)

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

44 thoughts on “Heath (atozchallenge)”

  1. Oh, I love Heath bars! I haven’t had one in years. It never occurred to me that they might not be readily available anymore.

    Like

    1. Stephen, Whoopers make a good Malted Milk Balls. I don’t know, if I’ve had the Brach’s before or not, but you gotta be careful with candy manufactures today as they are moving production south of the border or overseas. One thing, if you do find these then chance is good that it won’t be the same as what you remember. Products aren’t what they use to be from the past. 😦

      Like

    2. I Googled it and found a bunch of places you can get them. Of course, you have to buy them in 5-pound bags, but if you like them that much, it shouldn’t be a problem. Cathy’s right, Whoppers are a pretty good substitute, and you can get them in smaller quantities.

      Like

    1. We have a Walmart nearby, but don’t go there all that often, unless there’s something we can’t get at Target (which is closer). I’ll keep an eye out foir them the next time we go.

      Like

  2. Loved them, but believe they would break my teeth nowdays. As you age teeth just aren’t as strong. Right you are kids ate candy when they were far more active and it was therefore less of problem. I try to walk daily, have a fitbit, but somedays I’m more successful then others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the issue is getting kids to get out and play more, and I see ads to that effect, but the problem is logistics. All the good places to play were in walking distance when I was younger. Now, parents have to take the kids to everything. Plus, I think kids are really regimented, with their schedules pretty packed with planned activities. Half the fun of being told to go out and play was figuring out what to do and who to do it with.

      Like

  3. I just LOVE Heath Bars! It’s just about my favorite chocolate bar! I’ll settle for a Skor bar, if I can’t find anything else, but for my money, nothing beats a Heath Bar! 🙂 Great entry for today’s A-to-Z! 😀

    Like

  4. Never had one, of course, they didn’t make it to the Uk – but we have REAL chocolate, so I’m not toooo worried! Now what you need to try is Montezuma’s chocolate – lime and sea salt. Yum. How are you holding up, John, getting round everyone, you must be exhausted.

    Like

  5. I remember the Heath bar! It was quite crunchy. I also remember the Reggie bar:). We can get the Candy Cigarettes with Popeye still on the cover but they are now called candy sticks-like that diffuses kids from smoking

    Like

    1. A lot of the old-time candy is still made and available online. OldTimeCandy.com is one I’ve bought things from, but they say they can’t find the Reggie bar anymore.

      I don’t think getting rid of candy cigarettes or bubble-gum cigars ever kept kids from smoking…

      Like

  6. Ooooo, I need to bookmark that “OldTimeCandy” shop! I love Heath bars, too, though my mother was always worried they’d rot my teeth out. No more than a Butterfinger, in my opinion!

    Admittedly, though, my favorite candy is a Watchamacallit.

    Like

    1. I’m pretty sure they have Whatchamacallits there. They have a lot of candies that I had forgotten about. Turkish Taffy, for example; you used to put in the freezer and get it really brittle, then take it out and slam it on the counter and it’d break into bite-sized pieces. Lost my first tooth thanks to Turkish Taffy…

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re making them cheaper and with a lot of artificial ingredients, and that can’t be good. They taste okay, but not the same. I can remember the old Twinkies; they had a much tastier (and all-natural, or at least more-natural) filling.

      Like

  7. J here, stopping by from the #atozchallenge 2015!
    Great post.
    @JLenniDorner

    They still have these around here, but I’m only an hour from Hershey. We also have them chopped up at Menchie’s frozen yogurt shops. And Ben & Jerry’s mixes it with coffee ice-cream (OMG so good). But yeah, I see Heath bars at all the check out lanes. Even saw mini ones in the mix bags at Halloween. Must be a region thing.

    Like

    1. Probably more a northern thing than a southern one, and I’m not sure if they sell on the West Coast. But they mix them in with a lot of things (I really like the Heath-flavored Klondike bars), and they are kind of popular as an ice-cream topping. I’ll bet the coffee ice cream with Heath bar chunks would be really good. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  8. I read ‘Health’ Bar when I began reading … and wondered. Now reading your post – and the comments – I feel my sweet tooth moving. I live in South Africa and many of the US candy is not readily available here. Hershey’s yes. Any one remember sunrise toffees?
    Thanks John, enjoyed this.

    Like

    1. Jeremy (probably in the comment below yours) said the same thing about thinking Heath was Health. It was a common mistake. Never heard of Sunrise Toffees, though I do remember Callard and Bowser (no idea who they are now) had English toffee. That was good stuff.

      Like

  9. I think I remember those from the past, but haven’t seen any in recent years. Skor bars are readily available though. Interesting that there’s a site offering old time candy!

    Like

  10. Heath bars used to be my favorite. I still like them, but just don’t buy them anymore. I do see them in the grocery store where I shop as well as Walgreen’s.

    A few years ago I did a taste test comparison blog post where I compared Heath, Skor, and Almond Roca. You can check it out at The Dangerous English Toffee Test. Next time I go to the store I think I’ll get a Heath bar since I don’t think I’ve had one since doing that post.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

      1. If you like Heath bars then you would probably enjoy the higher end Almond Roca which usually comes in a can of bite size candies. I got mine at Costco, but I’ve often seen them on the top shelves in the grocery store candy departments.

        Arlee Bird
        A to Z Challenge Co-host
        Tossing It Out

        Like

Leave a Reply

