Vladislav Volkov (#atozchallenge)

The_Soviet_Union_1969_CPA_3810_stamp_(Anatoly_Filipchenko,_Vladislav_Volkov_and_Viktor_Gorbatko_(Soyuz_7))_cropped_Volkov
Vladislav Volkov, from a USSR postage stamp (public domain)

Vladislav Volkov was a Russian cosmonaut who flew on the Soyuz 7 and Soyuz 11 missions, for which he was named a Hero of the Soviet Union twice, and earned two Order of Lenin medals and the title of Pilot-Cosmonaut of the USSR. After the 24-day Soyuz 11 mission, during which they docked with the Salyut 1 space station, he and his crewmates, Georgy Dobrovolsky and Viktor Patsayev, were found dead in their capsule by the recovery crew. A breathing ventilation valve opened shortly after the capsule had undocked from the space station, and the crew asphyxiated shortly afterward. So far, they are the only men to have died in outer space.

President Richard Nixon issued the following statement:

The American people join in expressing to you and the Soviet people our deepest sympathy on the tragic deaths of the three Soviet cosmonauts. The whole world followed the exploits of these courageous explorers of the unknown and shares the anguish of their tragedy. But the achievements of cosmonauts Dobrovolsky, Volkov and Patsayev remain. It will, I am sure, prove to have contributed greatly to the further achievements of the Soviet program for the exploration of space and thus to the widening of man’s horizons.

Rest in peace, gentlemen.

The_Soviet_Union_1971_CPA_4060_stamp_(Cosmonauts_Georgy_Dobrovolsky,_Vladislav_Volkov_and_Viktor_Patsayev)
Commemorative stamp honoring the crew of Soyuz 11: Dobrovolsky, Volkov, Patsayev. (public domain)
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

13 thoughts on “Vladislav Volkov (#atozchallenge)”

  1. Isn’t it strange that none of us have heard this story before now? Actually, I thought he died about five years ago. Interesting. Nixon and Watergate probably tied all the news up. I remember that story.

    Like

  2. I feel bad that I’ve never heard this or if I did, I’ve forgotten it. On another subject , I just read your Sunday post for today – your weekly challenge summary and I am amazed and in awe of you . Visiting 200 blogs per day is quite an accomplishment and something to be proud of. In the past I always wrote my post ahead of time, but unfortunately this year, I only managed to get the first weeks post written . I am also hositng a mini challenge for my theme. It’s an A to Z crime fiction murder mystery and while I plotted out my mystery in my head, in advance , I haven’t written all of the post and that has caused a significant decrease in the number of blogs i am able to visit each day. I won’t make the same mistake next year. One other issue you brought up- not getting around to replying to all the comments left on your blog. I am having the same problem some days and am wondering what you think is more important : that I reply to the comments on my blog or visit more blogs and leave comments . I’ve opted to visit more blogs. Sometimes I wonder if people even come back to read my replies to comments.

    Thanks for your helpful tips. I will be back to visit more after the challenge.
    Melissa Sugar
    Twitter @msugar13
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com
    Sugarlaw13@live.com

    Like

    1. I just want to put my two cents worth in. It annoys me when I go to the trouble to comment on someone’s blog, and they don’t bother to respond. That’s a thing with me. It’s different for those blogs that are so popular, they have hundreds of comments. But for most blogs, I think it’s common courtesy to answer your comments. That’s just my opinion. 🙂

      Also, you mentioned you wondered if people come back and see if you answered. There’s always a problem for me with blogspot blogs because there’s no way to sign up to subscribe to comments. With WordPress, I get an email when I get an answer.

      Just some info I’ve learned traveling around the blogverse.

      Like

      1. With Blogger, you can request that you be mailed with subsequent comments, but unless you go back to the discussion itself, you really don’t get a sense of what they’re replying to. Blogger people seem to have the same problem with WordPress. The alternative is to use something like Disqus, but no one likes that. It would be nice to use some other bulletin board system (kind of like Google Groups) where you could have threaded conversations where people could comment and see when others had replied. Kait Nolan might have the right idea, moving commenting on her blog to Facebook…

        Like

        1. Actually, I’ve never been able to subscribe to comments at all on Blogger. The only time I’ve ever seen something that looked like that’s what I could do, it was a file download. People keep saying the option is there, but I must be special, because I never have the option. Believe me, I’ve tried, because I have several friends who use Blogger, and I miss a lot of comments I meant to check on. 😦

          Like

Leave a Reply

