BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Poetry Man” Results

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

I threw you a curve last week and chose two singers I had never heard of, Canadian Jaclyn Guillou and Hawai’ian Kainani Kahaunaele, as the competitors in a battle over who did a better job of Phoebe Snow’s “Poetry Man.” I enjoyed both performances myself, which is why I held this battle, and both women have good voices that I look forward to hearing much more of in the coming years.

The main critique of Ms. Guillou was that her jazz version of the song lost the melody, which I can see. It’s not unusual for a jazz combo to reharmonize a melody, and at times the melody can get buried under the arrangement. Ms. Kahaunaele, meanwhile, was both praised and critiqued for her performance; as hers featured just her voice and her guitar player in what almost seemed to be an informal jam on the tune, it put her voice up front, and some folks liked it and others didn’t. Again, I can see that. The voting went back and forth between them, and in the end, Ms. Guillou came out on top.

Jaclyn Guillou: 10
Kainani Kahaunaele: 6

Congratulations to Jaclyn Guillou, and kudos to Kainani Kahaunaele for a strong performance herself.

Be with us again on Monday, June 1, when we play this game again, in what looks like a Bacharach-David battle. See you then!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

11 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Poetry Man” Results”

  1. I had to go back to listen to that Guillou version to see what people meant about her losing the melody. I don’t hear that at all. I thought she stayed on the melody fairly straight even with everything that was going on with the instruments. Maybe that’s what threw people off–they were distracted by the back-up band, but even there I didn’t hear any loss of melody. The song was easy to follow for me and far more interesting than the well sung, but essentially dull version by KK.

    Good battle with a reasonably balanced outcome.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Road trippin’ with A to Z
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Great job, John! I’m happy to see the vote nicely divided between your two artists. I am even happier to know that Lee and I finally matched in one of these battles! 🙂 I look forward to your next one. Have a great weekend, John!

    Like

  3. This was a good BATTLE John. I enjoy being exposed to new artists, especially when they are as good as these two women. Phoebe’s version is hard to beat, but they did real well.

    Like

  4. I actually preferred the second version, but obviously the majority disagreed. Interesting battle and a song I never heard before made it even more so. Have a good weekend!

    Like

  5. That was a good battle John. I liked Guillou better but I also appreciated the other so it’s good that so many others did as well. Looking forward to your next battle. I’m still undecided with who I’m going to feature in my battle…
    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

Leave a Reply

