The Week That Was, Fathers’ Day (and First Day of Summer) Edition

The Week That Was

Today is

  • Fathers’ Day in most of the world this blog reaches. If you’re a father, stepfather, grandfather, uncle, legal guardian, etc., have a happy one!
  • Depending on where you live, either the shortest or longest day (“day” meaning the number of hours between sunrise and sunset) of the year. The Summer Solstice arrives at 12:38 PM EDT in the Northern Hemisphere; in the Southern Hemisphere, the Winter Solstice arrives at roughly the same time. Starting today, the days start getting shorter in the Northern Hemisphere until the Winter Solstice, roughly around December 21. The opposite happens in the Southern.

Anyhow, let’s look at what went on around here this past week. A lot of music…

  • You still have a chance, until about 9 tonight, to vote in my latest Battle of the Bands. The song is The Cascades’ “Rhythm of the Rain,” and the contestants are Neil Sedaka and Jason Donovan. It’s kind of a runaway, and the winner is all but decided, but still, vote and make your voice heard.
  • The Fortunes were the representatives of the British Invasion on Two for Tuesday.
  • Wednesday we talked about an interesting hobby for adults: coloring books. It started when I saw commercials for the Colorama coloring books. I thought it was unusual; coloring in coloring books is a great kids’ hobby, but I never considered that adults might enjoy it. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that adults have all kinds of artistic hobbies, and coloring might be a great stress reliever. It might even be a worthwhile activity for someone going through occupational therapy. A couple of my readers said they like to color. My uncle told me about a hobby his granddaughter has, where she puts a grid over a picture and draws what’s in each square of the grid. Actually sounds like a lot of fun.
  • For the Thursday Ten, I built a playlist of ten songs about listening. Six of the songs were called “Listen,” three of them had “listen” in the title, and the last one started with the word “listen.” Mama Kat provided the prompt as part of her weekly Writer’s Workshop, though I didn’t submit it.
  • A couple of readers chose their favorite song from the Ten, and I chose Chicago’s “Listen.” It made me think about the two-record album The Chicago Transit Authority, specifically the B side of the first record. Terry Kath’s guitar (an old Gibson SG, for the record) dominates it, making it one of my favorites. Terry was Jimi Hendrix’s favorite player, and one of my guitar heroes. I featured the album side on Friday. You know, the album side is part of our musical heritage that has all but vanished, and the two-record set is another. I bought Rhino’s reissue of the first three Chicago albums, and all of the songs fit on one CD. I still think in terms of the original sets. That’s just me.
  • Finally, yesterday was Stream of Consciousness Saturday. The prompt was “bone,” which reminded me of eighth grade and several of my friends building a chicken skeleton. I’m glad to hear that many of you liked it, because I laughed like an idiot while I was writing it.

I’m pretty well organized for the coming week. Be sure and join me this week, and tell your friends! See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

1 thought on “The Week That Was, Fathers’ Day (and First Day of Summer) Edition”

Leave a Reply

