BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “One-Note Samba” Results

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

At least it wasn’t a shutout…

Frank Sinatra: 4
Eydie Gorme: 15

The result surprised me; I thought Frank would get more than four votes. After all, he was joined by none other than Antonio Carlos Jobim, the composer of the song and arguably the best-known and most popular composer of bossa nova, and he’s the standard by which we judge other singers. But you liked Eydie Gorme’s version better. Several of you said it moved quicker and smoother than Frank’s. At least one of you admitted to not liking Ol’ Blue Eyes, but I don’t think that was the whole reason Frank didn’t get her vote. Maybe Arlee had it right when he said, as fine a singer as Frank was, his bossa nova period was not his best. I agree; there’s a feel to bossa nova that didn’t come through on his version of the song. I’ll have to listen to the album he did with Jobim again and see if that was the case with the rest of the songs.

In any event, Eydie did a fantastic job with her version, and it’s a win well-deserved. Both singers will be back in another battle soon, though maybe not against each other.

Our next Battle of the Bands comes your way next Friday, August 1. If I can find enough versions, it may feature a song made popular by Eydie’s husband, Steve Lawrence. Join us then!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

13 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “One-Note Samba” Results”

  1. Seemed like a fair fight. It wasn’t a typical Sinatra song, however. Maybe that was part of the reason.

    Like

    1. You have to give him credit for trying bossa nova and spreading the word about it, but it wasn’t a style he was especially suited to. I can’t tell if it was too slow or it lacked the feel of the music, but it missed the mark.

      Like

  2. I have a love/hate relationship with ole’ Frank. Sometimes, I love him – mainly when I hear him sing. His day-to-day Frank irritates me. Not much of a Rat Pack personality fan.

    Go, Team Eydie.

    Like

    1. He had a great voice, and I love the story about his kids burying him with a roll of dimes in his pocket (he had a rule that they always had to have a dime to call home whenever they went out). But bossa nova was definitely not his thing.

      Like

  3. JOHN ~
    I actually liked BOTH recordings. As I said previously, even though I’m not much of a Sinatra fan, I thought he did a good job with the song. It’s just that I liked Eydie’s version better.

    In my opinion, this was a good Battle and far better’n the final score would seem to indicate.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

    1. He didn’t do a bad job of doing the song; it just sounded like he didn’t get the “feel” of the music. I agree with my uncle, it wasn’t typical of the kind of music Frank usually does. I appreciate your input on it. I would have liked it a little closer, but we can’t have everything, can we?

      Like

Leave a Reply

