RIP Cilla Black

_CILLA_BLACK_RECEI_3395189b
Cilla Black receiving the MBE at Buckingham Palace (photo: Rex/The Telegraph)

Sad news to report: Cilla Black, who I featured on Two for Tuesday as part of my series on The British Invasion, died this morning at her home in Marbella, Spain, apparently of natural causes. She was 72.

I think an appropriate celebration of Cilla’s life would be to hear her wonderful rendition of Bacharach and David’s “Anyone Who Had A Heart,” her #1 hit from 1964.

Rest in peace, Cilla.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

8 thoughts on “RIP Cilla Black”

    1. I was, too. She never made much of an impact here in the US, and I don’t know why; Pet Clark, Dusty Springfield, and Lulu all did well here, and they didn’t have the support of The Beatles and Brian Epstein.

      Like

Leave a Reply

