STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY: My Windows 10 enthusiasm is gone

Windows 10 — yeah, you’re probably tired of hearing about it from me…

I’ve been waiting for a 128 GB flash drive to arrive from Amazon to do the upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10. It took longer than I had expected to get here, but it was here this morning (it’s just after midnight on Saturday), a full ten hours before the 8 PM cutoff. I, of course, was like “all right! I can make my system image and upgrade to Windows 10 today!” I mean, I was excited, enthusiastic, definitely in the mood to get this done, etc. etc.

So! I sat down this afternoon to create my system image. And, wouldn’t you know it, I can’t put the system image on a flash drive. No explanation from Microsoft as to why the heck I can’t use a flash drive to hold the system image, I just can’t because they say so. Great.

Well, that’s too bad, I say. I’m just going to go ahead and attempt the upgrade. I’ve done upgrades on Windows before, there’s never been a problem before, I’m just going to go ahead and do this without a net. Everyone is saying that the install “just works,” no one has reported any problems with it, yadda yadda yadda. So, that’s just what I did.

A few hours later, I return to my office, and everything is installed. Great! I can sign on to Windows 10 and start customizing it, fixing the things that aren’t right with it, and have a working system in no time. I’m really enthusiastic now: I’ve been hearing all these great things about how it “just works” and how much faster everything is going to run. So I sign on, and notice right away that the Start menu, one of the major things that they said they had fixed from Windows 8, isn’t working. Neither is Cortana. Firefox works, though, and I use it for a while, then decide I’m going to try restarting the machine to see if I can get the other pieces working.

Well… no. In fact, the pieces that were working now don’t work. The system repair tool claims it’s fixed the problem, after which it restarts the machine and whammo! More errors! Errors that prevent me from starting it at all.

So, now, I have a dead laptop, and I don’t have the pieces I need to do a fresh installation of Windows 10, nor can I recover to Windows 7, because I don’t have a system image.

Know what? I’m installing Ubuntu, what I probably should have done to start with. The hell with Microsoft.

Well, at least you’re not going to hear about Windows 10 from me anymore…

socs-badge

Anyway, this has been another entry into Linda Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday. Visit her blog for the official rules and a list of pingbacks from other participants.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY: My Windows 10 enthusiasm is gone”

  1. I hope it works out well. For me, installing was the tricky part, due to trying to set up a duel-boot system. But after that, Ubuntu was pretty easy to figure out. Especially after I read the Help files.

    Like

    1. Oh, it has been. I now have a fully-functioning computer that starts really quickly. Before, I was sitting around for a good 5-10 minutes, and half the time the keyboard didn’t work, or there’d be something else not working. I really wonder if all my Windows trouble was caused by Sony when they set up the machine. But, no matter. This works.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Microsoft really does control us with these needless upgrades. I can still recall loving Windows 98 and wishing I had never gone beyond that. I’m running Windows 8 now and am in no hurry to get to 10. Very nice post.

    Like

  3. It took from 8 am to 2 pm to load and install Windows 10 on my Dell Laptop from Windows 8. And then it did the creak and grind. I had to restart the computer several times. Every time I did that more things worked. Go figure. It seems to be ticking along, but I still have the option to go back to 8 for a month from install. I’m tracking the days. And now my laptop loads much faster than it did with 8. G-Man upgraded from 7. He still has steam shooting out his nose. Beware. Here be dragons!

    Like

Leave a Reply

