The Week That Was, August 9, 2015

The Week That Was

Coming to you from my laptop, now running Ubuntu Linux. It just works; in fact, this computer has never worked better. We need never speak of Windows again. Yesterday’s Stream of Consciousness post explains the goat-rope (I’ve heard the Marines call it that) that was the Windows 10 upgrade. I’ve been speculating that many, if not all, of the problems I encountered were caused by Sony, who set their machine up, and the version of Windows 7 they installed to begin with. It doesn’t matter. I’m happy now. Glazed mentioned that the reason he was going Linux was he had a feeling Windows 10 would be a mess.

As always, music played a big part of this week. It all started on Monday, when I shared an old Mitch Miller show from the early 1960’s that I found on YouTube. Corny as Kansas in August, but I enjoyed it, and I hope you did, too. I started a new series on Two for Tuesday, songwriting teams, beginning with Gerry Goffin and Carole King. They put a lot of hits on the Hot 100 in their day. And on Friday, I announced the winner of Battle “Go Away Little Girl”: by a 3-to-1 margin, The Lettermen beat The Happenings. Debbie, Arlee, and Jeffrey all expressed surprise that it was as wide a margin as it was; FAE (over at Far Away Eyes) said it was as it should have been.

I did talk about Windows 10 for One-Liner Wednesday. More specifically, I shared a comment to an article on Lifehacker about how to shut off Cortana, one of the key features of Win10 that I had planned on turning off, anyway. No doubt digital assistants are the thing of the future, as there are now three, Apple’s Siri, Google’s “Hey Google,” and Microsoft’s Cortana, and no doubt there will be others. I’m not using any of them, and I suspect few others are.

The Thursday Ten (it’s ain’t dead yet!) came from Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop. The prompt was “share some of your favorite Instagram accounts,” and I shared ten. Thank you for your patience as I taught myself how to imbed Instagram photos into WordPress, something that I will do sparingly, even though it’s easier than I had thought it would be (put the URL on its own line, and WordPress takes care of the rest. Duh.) I think, for those of you reading this on our sister station (The Sound of One Hand Typing FM, over on Blogger), it provides you with a link to go see it on Instagram. An odd coincidence: not 24 hours after posting a picture of Chris Johnson of the Braves (one of the ten), he was traded to Cleveland for Nick Swisher and Michael Bourn. I’ll have to remember that. Chris has been asking to be traded for a couple of months, and I’d like to think I had something to do with it. You’re welcome, Chris!

I shared five of my favorite quotes from movies on The Friday Five. I employed the services of Quozio.com to create image quotes, which you can save and have forever. A couple of my readers (Halfmoon Mollie, Ally Bean, and Lauralynn) shared quotes of their own, although Lauralynn was hesitant to hijack my post. Hey, it’s all right with me. If you have quotes from movies to share, please, feel free.

I also shared a couple of clips from YouTube that I favorited, not remembering that I still have the IFTTT recipe that imbeds them into posts for me. I think I’ll keep that around for a while. Anyway, one was a hilarious video of a cockatoo running around talking total gibberish, and the other was Jimmy Durante’s classic “Inka Dinka Doo.” The latter features one of my favorite Durante lines: after hitting and holding a note that’s a little flat, he says, “dat note was given ta me by Bing Crrrosby, and was he ever glad ta get rid of it!” Durante was a classic.

Be sure to stop by next week, when we’ll have another Two for Tuesday, another Battle of the Bands on Saturday, a Thursday Ten and/or a Friday Five, another Stream of Consciousness, and whatever I come up with for the rest of the week.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “The Week That Was, August 9, 2015”

  1. Thanks for the link to Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop. I didn’t know about her and she seems like someone I should know about!

    [Also, thanks for the mention. Much appreciated.]

    Like

  2. How have you been enjoying Windows 10? I use Apple, but a lot of people in office have been asking me about it (for some reason, haha…)

    Like

    1. HAHAHAHAHA! Installing Windows 10 was a disaster that left me unable to use my computer. I now use Ubuntu Linux on it, and have no desire to ever revisit Windows. My desktop is a Mac Mini running Yosemite (and El Capitan later this year); Mac OS X and Linux share a common ancestor, so they’re very similar.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, that bad? Haha… I gave up on Windows at Vista. I actually bring my personal laptop to work, so I won’t be forced to use Windows 8. 😛

        Like

        1. Same here. I needed a new computer around the same time Vista came out, and had heard so many bad things about it that I decided either to get a new machine and immediately install Linux on it or to get a Mac. I chose the latter, and have been quite satisfied.

          >

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

