WCFL’s Top Ten, June 24, 1971

image

There’s a cryptic theme for this week’s Thursday Ten. Why June 24, 1971?

One day in late 1970 or early 1971, my mother decided she wanted to buy a house in the suburbs. She found one in April 1971, closed on it at the end of May, and we moved in the last Saturday in June. So, this is the Top Ten at WCFL the day we moved. I’ve done surveys from WLS before, let’s give the other Chicago station a chance. For each song, I’ll indicate what the song’s position was at WLS to show you that there was a difference.

#10: “You’ve Got A Friend,” James Taylor (#6 at WLS on 6/28/71)

#9: “Here Comes That Rainy Day Feeling,” The Fortunes (#5)

#8: “Here Comes The Sun,” Richie Havens (not on WLS’s chart that week)

#7: “Nathan Jones,” The Supremes (#3)

#6: “Want Ads,” The Honey Cone (#16)

#5: “Don’t Knock My Love,” Wilson Pickett (#11)

#4: “Double Lovin’,” The Osmonds (#20)

#3: “If Not For You,” Olivia Newton-John (#2)

#2: “Rainy Days and Mondays,” Carpenters (#9)

#1: “It’s Too Late,” Carole King (#1)

Here are the surveys for both WLS and WCFL. I’m not sure how to explain the differences in surveys for two Top 40 stations in the same market that were less than two blocks apart; payola, maybe?

Thanks to Oldies Loon for all the work they’ve done to get the surveys out there, and of course to the nice folks who uploaded these songs to YouTube.

In any event, there’s your Thursday Ten for August 13, 2015.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

5 thoughts on “WCFL’s Top Ten, June 24, 1971”

  1. These are some great songs! I had to click and listen to “Here Comes That Rainy Day Feeling Again”. Love that song!

    I’m glad to see “Double Lovin'” on there since I’m on an Osmonds kick right now. I found it interesting that it’s #4 on WCFL and #20 on WLS.

    In the early 70’s, I was crazy about James Taylor and the Osmonds.

    Like

    1. The only explanation I can come up with is the two stations had different listener bases: WCFL’s trended younger than WLS’s, because WCFL hadn’t been in the Top 40 business as long. A lot of records would have been on WLS for a couple of months by the time they hit the WCFL chart. “Double Lovin'” was on its way down the WLS chart because it had been on since April. I didn’t listen to WCFL much until after I moved, because the son of the program director was a classmate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

