Five “Green” Songs

FridayFive

If you’ve been following this blog for any amount of time (thank you!) you probably noticed two things: I do a lot of music, and I don’t do lists very well. I’m getting better, though, and I think I’ve landed on a good way to come up with themes. And of course, music plays a big part of them…

Today’s Friday Five:

Songs With “Green” In The Title

This started as “Songs With ‘Blue’ In The Title,” but I came up with way more than five. So, “green” it is.

Green Eyed Lady – Sugarloaf: A particular favorite, both to listen to and to play.

Green Tambourine – The Lemon Pipers: From the Groovy ’60’s, baby, by one-hit wonders The Lemon Pipers.

The Green Manalishi (with the Two-Prong Crown) – Fleetwood Mac This is almost green squared, as this was from FM’s Peter Green era. If you know or find out what a “manalishi” is, let me know in the comments. DuckDuckGo kept leading me back to this song.

Green Onions – Booker T and the MG’s: A great instrumental by a band noted for great instrumentals. If you remember American Graffiti, you might remember this played before the drag race. And if it didn’t, it should have.

Green River – Creedence Clearwater Revival: From their third album of the same name, back in the days when John Fogerty wasn’t running around suing everyone.

And there’s your Friday Five for August 28, 2015. Do you have any favorite green songs?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

16 thoughts on “Five “Green” Songs”

  1. I cringed when I saw the title of this post. I thought you were going to talk about “green” songs as in songs about ecology.

    “Green Eyed Lady” is my favorite here. I’d never heard that Fleetwood Mac song but I really like it–now one of my favorites by that group.

    An obscure favorite green song of mine is “Three Is a Green Crown” by Incredible String Band–such an eclectic magical sounding group.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. I like all of these songs. I’ve always been a CCR fan. One thing that surprised me. I didn’t know there was another “version” of Fleetwood Mac. I’ve never liked FM, and I can’t stand Stevie Nicks’ voice. I wondered why there were no women on the cover of the album. I need to go back and check out the Peter Green era.

    Like

    1. The FM incarnations with Peter Green and then later with Bob Welch were the best in my opinion. With Nicks and Buckingham they became more pop hit driven with good songs, but not as much innovation as the band had earlier.

      Arlee Bird
      A to Z Challenge Co-host
      Tossing It Out

      Like

      1. They should have renamed the band after “Mystery to Me,” because that was the first album that was more pop oriented. When “Fleetwood Mac” (the second one; the original is now called “Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac”), I really had a hard time believing it was them…

        Like

    1. I was somewhat familiar with “Green Manalishi”; I heard it a few times back in the early Seventies after I got a stereo with my grade-school graduation and started listening to FM radio. Haven’t heard it in years, and couldn’t rememeber it when I heard it this time. Those were the great days of Fleetwood Mac…

      Like

  3. Just listened to Green Eyes. Bob Eberly sings it with Helen O’Connell. We young guys only heard Helen O’Connell!

    Like

Leave a Reply

