The Week That Was, Last One In August

This week brought to you by Hertz Rent-A-Car. Let Hertz put you in the driver’s seat!

All righty then! A lot to talk about today. We had a lot of rain about an hour ago, but now the sun is making an appearance from behind the clouds, and it’s turning into a nice day. Julio Teheran is pitching at home for the Braves; that gives them a chance to beat the Yankees, but we’ll see. One good piece of news: the White Sox are flirting with .500!

The Week That Was

Monday I took issue with the List Challenges website, which made a list of the 100 worst records of all time. It was a list originally written for AOL, so that might explain it. Still, most of the songs the author chose were actually good, at least as far as I was concerned. I listened to a couple of the ones I wasn’t familiar with, and they were at least decent (Britney Spears actually did a darn good job covering Joan Jett’s “I Love Rock & Roll”). Susan Gourley said “I always figure those lists are just opinions,” and she’s right, of course.

I also shared a video of an old Kellogg’s Rice Krispies commercial, where Snap, Crackle, and Pop did a song that many of you remembered. The commercial was from the early 1960’s, and we all know that means it’s been in my mind for over fifty years. I can also remember what I had for breakfast yesterday, only because I have it almost every morning (oatmeal). A couple of you remembered it, and Guilie Castillo was surprised to learn The Rolling Stones had also done music for another Rice Krispies commercial. The person who posted it included that tidbit in his summary. Jeffrey Scott mentioned that he’s been doing a lot of old commercial watching for an upcoming project, so keep an eye on his blog to see what he does with it. Nadine said she didn’t recognize it at first, but the more she listened, the more she did.

Two for Tuesday featured the music of Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart, who wrote a significant amount of music for The Monkees (the first band on Two for Tuesday, almost three years ago). They also wrote the song “Come A Little Bit Closer” for Jay and the Amercians, and Lauralynn said she always imagined Marty Robbins singing it. Considering it’s a similar song to “El Paso,” a hit for Marty, it’s not that far-fetched. Arlee said he still has a copy of Boyce & Hart’s 1969 album, It’s All Happening on the Inside, and says they have some interesting covers on it as well as some originals. They were better than average performers, and when Mike Nesmith and Peter Tork balked at the idea of a Monkees reunion in the mid-1970’s, Boyce and Hart filled in for them.

For One-Liner Wednesday, I shared something my brother said on Facebook, about how the cellphone destroyed Seinfeld. Several of you mentioned that you didn’t like the show, and I agree, the characters were awful. And, since it was One-Liner Wednesday, I included a video clip from the King of the One-Liners, Henny Youngman.

The Thursday Ten was based on the previous week’s Friday Five, where I listed five shows with numbers in the title and asked you to suggest other shows that fit the theme. You came up with seven, so I added three and voila!, instant Thursday Ten!

Also on Thursday, prompted by Mama Kat in her weekly Writer’s Workshop, I shared a little about the picture I use on all my social media accounts. A couple of you remarked that you like the picture, for which I thank you.

The Friday Five was five songs with “green” in the title. Arlee was relieved to know that it wasn’t five “green” songs, i.e. about ecology. Lauralynn said she didn’t realize there was another version of Fleetwood Mac, the one that did “The Green Manalishi (with the Two-Prong Crown)” and the band as it exists today. Their first three albums (four counting the US release English Rose) all featured Peter Green and were predominantly blues-oriented. The band had changed drastically around the time the album Mystery To Me came out in 1973. My Uncle Jack mentioned the song “Green Eyes,” by Helen O’Connell, saying I’d have to be his age to have heard it. It was in fact a song I knew. Here’s the Helen O’Connell version….

I remembered the Allan Sherman parody, from his 1964 Allan in Wonderland album, “Green Stamps.”

I learned about a lot of music from hearing Allan Sherman’s parodies and looking up the original later.

Yesterday for Stream of Consciousness Saturday, the prompt was “four-letter word.” After throwing out the obvious ones, I came up with “sing,” and talked about my love-hate relationship with my voice. It was a hard entry to write. That’s all I’ll say about it.

This coming week we’ll have another Battle of the Bands on Tuesday, which I think you’ll like, and all the usual favorites, including a special Friday Five for Labor Day weekend. See you then!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

Leave a Reply

