The Week That Was, September 13, 2015

Today’s “The Week That Was” is sponsored by Zenith: The quality goes in before the name goes on.

Sounds like William Conrad doing the voiceover. I had the Royal Commander, a few steps down from the Trans-Oceanic Royal 3000, but it still received the longwave and one shortwave band as well as AM. Good radio. Never figured out what happened to it.

The Week That Was

Monday was Labor Day, and I took the opportunity to continue the discussion of the issue of student debt. I presented my brother’s analysis, and came up with my own conclusion: Sorry, kid, you still owe $40,000. Use the fact that you have a Bachelor’s degree to find yourself something that pays a little better. Nadine agrees that college graduates who borrowed the money should repay it, and suggested that, rather than spending four years (or more) at an expensive university, maybe a young person should start at a community college, earn their Associate’s degree, then, if they have a need or desire to continue, to go the extra two years for the Bachelor’s. She also said that the cost of a college education is ridiculously high, pricing itself out of most families’ budgets, and the use of the money is occasionally questionable. She used the example of the University of Houston paying $150,000 and the price of a private jet to fly Matthew McConaughey in to speak at commencement. I’ll be talking about that later this week, because it is out of hand: The cost of a year of college at a typical university has increased at a greater rate than the cost of health care or of consumer prices.

On to happier topics. Two for Tuesday featured music from the songwriting team of Lerner and Loewe. My brother Kip suggested it might be interesting to feature popular songs that were originally from Broadway musicals. That became my topic for The Thursday Ten, in fact. In doing that, I realized just how much popular music came from the musical Hair.

On Tuesday, I also I announced the winner of my latest Battle of the Bands: by a significant margin, Grand Funk Railroad’s version of Little Eva’s “The Loco-Motion” beat Kylie Minogue’s.

On One-Liner Wednesday, and I featured a quote I found on the blog Wide-Eyed in Wonder, from Michio Kaku, physicist and futurist. He would tell his mother he wanted to do something that sounded a bit crazy, and her reaction was “Sure, why not?” Thanks to Regina at WEIW, whose blog you should be reading.

Friday was the fourteenth anniversary of the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon, and I reposted my entry for last 9-11. Then, for the Friday Five, the topic was songs with numbers in the title. My Uncle Jack and Halfmoon Mollie both came up with a few more examples, which will probably form the basis for this week’s Thursday Ten or Friday Five.

Finally, for Stream of Consciousness Saturday, the prompt was “temp.” My entry was about my love of weather and forecasting, and about the American Contemporary Radio Network. A few of you remembered Paul Harvey, one of the ACRN’s more familiar voices and one of my favorite announcers of all time. XmasDolly, in whose “Monday’s Music Moves Me” I will be participating starting tomorrow, mistook Paul for former WBBM-TV weatherman PJ Hoff, but that’s OK; she also grew up in Chicago and remembered PJ, and probably Paul.

Anyway, I have lots more of the same kind of stuff on the burner for next week, and you’ll miss it if you don’t stop in. See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

4 thoughts on “The Week That Was, September 13, 2015”

  1. My husband and I have one more tuition payment to make for our 6th child. College costs are really out of reach of most middle class families. We’re worked so hard so our children didn’t have to borrow. I have strong feelings about what this is doing to our country.

    Susan Says

    Like

    1. Wow, six kids through college. I don’t know how you did it. Personally, I couldn’t see paying the amount of money they charge now, particularly at the schools that have huge endowments. What are they doing with that money? Anyway, more to come.

      Like

Leave a Reply

