Story Songs for Monday’s Music Moves Me

New feature today on The Sound of One Hand Typing: Monday’s Music Moves Me!

retromusic1

I want to thank X-Mas Dolly for inviting me to play along. I’ve been more or less aware of this blog hop, but never quite sure how to join in.

Anyway, the idea is simple: Each week, Dolly posts a prompt on her blog, and we respond to it by posting songs that fit the theme. The prompt is selected by Dolly’s “Spotlight Dancer,” who in this case is Ramona, who runs the blog Create-With-Joy. This week’s theme: A song that tells a story.

All good songs tell a story of one sort or another, but I think I understand what Ramona is asking for. So. let’s see what we got here.

One of my favorite story songs is Clarence Carter’s “Patches,” from 1970, when it reached #4 on the Hot 100 and #2 on the R&B chart.

Another great one is Brook Benton’s “A Rainy Night in Georgia,” also from 1970. It also reached #4 on the Hot 100, and went all the way to #1 on the R&B chart. More of a vignette than a full story, but still a great one.

The classic is Bobbie Gentry’s “Ode to Billie Joe,” her 1967 smash hit that reached #1 on the Hot 100, #7 on the Adult Contemporary chart, and only #17 on the Country chart.

Seems like there are a lot of Southern artists here (Carter from Alabama, Benton from South Carolina, Gentry from Mississippi). Here’s another, Jeannie C. Riley, from Texas. Her “Harper Valley PTA” from 1968 reached #1 all over the place, the Hot 100 and Country charts in both the US and Canada.

One of my favorites, by the King himself, Tupelo, Mississippi’s Elvis Presley. He had a couple that fit the category, but here’s my favorite, 1970’s “Kentucky Rain.” It reached #16 on the Hot 100, #31 on the Country chart, and went all the way to #3 on the Adult Contemporary chart. In Canada, it reached #1 on the Country chart, #4 on Adult Contemporary, and #10 overall.

I have to bring this to a close, or I’ll be here all day. Have to include one from Delight, Arkansas’ Glen Campbell. From 1967, “By The Time I Get To Phoenix.” Say a prayer for Glen, who’s suffering from Alzheimer’s disease and no longer can speak for himself.

So, there’s my first 4M. How’d I do?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “Story Songs for Monday’s Music Moves Me”

  1. My dear new friend you have definitely ROCKED THE HOUSE! Love your choices and the stories! These are truly great. You’re a great player. You need to sign our linky so everyone else can listen to your songs… I’ll sign you in this week if you like, but you remember for next time okay! Patches is a favorite for sure. Ode to Billie Joe oh my gosh I use to wear that record out for sure when I was a teenie bopper & who doesn’t know Harper Valley PTA… loved the movie and the rest are too great. You catch on quick my friend. Next Monday is a Freebie & you get to Post whatever kind of songs you’d like. YOU ROCK SIR! THANKS FOR THE DANCE! HUGS

    Like

  2. Hi and welcome to 4M’s. I am one of the co-host and think you did a great job! I have heard the last three but the first ones I had not. That is one of things I like about Monday’s Music because you sometimes get a musical education.

    Come on by and again, welcome!
    Naila Moon

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness I haven’t heard Patches in ages! I”ve always always loved that song!
    You have some great hits here!
    Thank you for sharing and welcome welcome!

    Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

