BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “By The Rivers Of Babylon” Results

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

The latest battle of the bands featured the song “By The Rivers Of Babylon,” a 1970 reggae hit for The Melodians. It’s been done a number of times by artists of many different genres, including Sinead O’Connor and Jorma Kaukonen, the contestants in this battle. Anyway, you’ve voted, and we have the results.

Jorma Kaukonen: 10
Sinead O’Connor: 4

Jorma won by a healthy margin, but I’m happy to say that it wasn’t a blowout like the last couple of Battles have been.

My brother Kip, who suggested this song (for which I thank him), said that his favorite version was a brief one by Linda Ronstadt. I think this is the one he’s thinking of.

Anyway, congratulations to Jorma and kudos to Sinead for her effort. I liked both of these artists and the way they did the song, but Jorma’s been on my radar since the early days of Hot Tuna, so he has a slight edge in my mind.

Join me again on October 1 for another Battle of the Bands!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

11 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “By The Rivers Of Babylon” Results”

Leave a Reply

