Five Songs With A Girl’s Name As The Title

FridayFive

I can just hear you now: “Geez, you’re just mailing it in, Holton.” Hey, this was harder than it looks, not coming up with songs with a girl’s name in the title, but coming up with just five. Every time I thought I had the list done, I’d think of another, and decide that one would fit better. Don’t worry, you’ll see this topic again. (Yeah, I know, “Don’t threaten me, pal.”)

Michelle – The Beatles From the Rubber Soul album, when the lads were starting to look a little rough around the edges.

Alison – Linda Ronstadt Had Elvis Costello’s version here first, then realized the lovely Ms. Ronstadt had done a cover of it, and that I liked her voice better.

Gloria – Laura Branigan From 1982, a late disco-era song, proving once and for all that Steve Dahl didn’t kill disco in 1979 (Google “disco demolition” if you don’t get the reference).

Gloria – Shadows of Knight A cover of Them’s song that reached #10 on the Hot 100 because of the number of radio stations that wouldn’t play Them’s version (because it had the line “She comes to my room” in it).

Anna – The Beatles One more by The Fabs, from their first album, which, depending on your preference, was Please Please Me on Parlophone (in the UK) or Introducing… The Beatles! on Vee-Jay (in the US).

And that’s your Friday Five for the first Friday in October, 2015.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

15 thoughts on “Five Songs With A Girl’s Name As The Title”

  1. Linda Rhondstat has been a favorite of mine for years, and when I was in my husband’s band I sang her songs and Stevie Nicks wouldn’t do none other. My voice range was exactly the same. I love how they both sing with feeling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

