Monday’s Music Moves Me: Happy Thanksgiving, Canada!

retromusic1

In honor (or, since we’re talking about Canadian Thanksgiving, honour) of the day, here are a few songs by Canadian artists…

Life Is A Highway – Tom Cochrane (Lynn Lake, Manitoba)

Big Yellow Taxi – Joni Mitchell (Fort MacLeod, Alberta)

No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature – The Guess Who (Winnipeg, Manitoba)

Roadhouse Blues – Jeff Healey (Toronto, Ontario)

Summer of ’69 – Bryan Adams (Kingston, Ontario)

Cry Me A River – Diana Krall (Nanaimo, British Columbia)

La Mer – Lynn Veronneau (Quebec – no city given)

Miss Chatelaine – k. d. lang (Edmonton, Alberta) (Chatelaine is a French-Canadian women’s magazine)

Carefree Highway – Gordon Lightfoot (Orillia, Ontario) (for Halfmoon Mollie, who’d kill me if I didn’t remember him)

Blue Collar – Bachman-Turner Overdrive (Winnipeg, Manitoba) (Some incredible guitar work here)

Tom Sawyer – Rush (Toronto, Ontario) (for everyone else, who would kill me if I left them out)

I could go on, so I’d better stop. That’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for October 12, 2015. Happy Thanksgiving, Canada!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

21 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Happy Thanksgiving, Canada!”

    1. I don’t listen to much popular music released after 1995, when pretty much everything turned into rap or hip-hop, at least from what I heard on the radio. Sorry about that. It would have helped, since I was scrambling to find someone from Quebec…

      Like

  1. In my opinion k.d.lang is among the top 10 female vocalists of all time. She has put out some great recordings.

    You should have included Bruce Cockburn in this line up. He is one of my favorite singer/songwriters.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. If I put in every Canadian artist, I’d still be sitting here putting this together. Jo (in the comment above) wanted to know where Celine Dion was…

      I like k. d. lang a lot, and she’s not the typical artist I like.

      Like

  2. I have to agree with Mr. Golch here about you rockin’ the house for sure, but you chose every genre there is for pity sakes I think! LOL KD Lang her voice is of an Angel’s and she sure knows how to use it. Jeff Healey is another big favorite in our household being as hubby is a guitarist himself. Thanks for sharing my friend, and joining us to share your talents. HUGS

    Like

    1. k.d. lang is a favorite of mine, too. I like women’s voices in the lower register, like hers, Julie London’s, and Karen Carpenter’s. Jeff Healey and I share a birthday (March 25); he would be ten years younger than me, if he had lived. He was a fantastic guitarist and fun to watch, with the guitar on his lap and everything. He could really play.

      Like

  3. Oh my gosh, you are a bundle of info aren’t you. Well, Happy Thanksgiving to Canada indeed. What a great bunch of tunes too! You have certainly rocked the house. I hope you don’t forget to sign in so others can come and listen to your great tunes. YOU ROCK!

    Like

    1. I’m usually pretty good about remembering, though it’s typically later in the day. I did it this morning (and thanks for reminding me). I went a little crazy today, so don’t kill me…

      Like

Leave a Reply

