BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “(There’s) Always Something There To Remind Me”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

Burt Bacharach and Hal David were the subject of Two for Tuesday this week. Their songs have been covered and recovered many times, and I knew I could find one for a decent battle.

This time around, the song is “(There’s) Always Something There To Remind Me.” I’m sure everyone has heard Naked Eyes’ 1982 version, which I’ll include to remind everyone what it sounds like (and because I like the song). This is not an entrant in this week’s battle, so don’t vote for it…

Bacharach and David wrote the song in 1964 for R&B singer Lou Johnson, and the British singer Sandie Shaw also did the song that year. Lou’s version rose to #49 on the US Pop Chart, while Sandie’s hit #1 on the UK pop chart. It doesn’t appear that both versions were on the same chart at the same time, so this battle pits them against one another…

CONTESTANT #1: Lou Johnson

CONTESTANT #2: Sandie Shaw

Sandie’s version was released in the US and reached #52 in September 1964. It was re-released in 1994 and reached #66 in the UK.

Now, it’s your turn: Which one did you like better? Lou Johnson’s soulful R&B rendition? Or Sandie Shaw’s British pop one? Vote in the comments below by 12:01 AM Eastern Daylight Time (4:01 AM UTC) on Wednesday, October 21, at which time the votes will be counted and the result announced.

I’m sure the other people conducting Battles would be thrilled if you also voted in their battles. Many (if not all) of the blogs are listed below:

Tossing It Out
Far Away Series
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
This Belle Rocks
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Women: We Shall Overcome
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

Lines are now open! Good luck to Lou Johnson and Sandie Shaw!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

21 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “(There’s) Always Something There To Remind Me””

  1. Both versions were very similar to the original 60’s hit that I remember–the one by Dionne Warwick. Both are good. My first reaction was to pick Lou Johnson’s smooth vocal version. Sandie’s seemed a bit more rushed with a less polished vocal. However in the end I didn’t quite care for the ending on Johnson’s version.

    I’m picking Sandie with Lou coming in a close second.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Okay, please don’t throw rotten tomatoes at me, but I almost passed on this one because I’ve never liked this song. I had only heard it by Naked Eyes. But I thought I would give the other two a chance to see if I just didn’t like the group. And it wasn’t much better. LOL. I’m going to vote, though, since I listened to both versions. My vote goes to Sandie Shaw (only because it’s a lot different than the original!)

    I know we won’t always agree on music. LOL

    Like

  3. I like Lou Johnson’s better. That R&B sound and that brass gets me every time! So give my vote to Lou.
    I do like the Naked Eyes version for sure.
    Sandie’s version was fine but I just liked Lou better.
    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  4. John, Naturally, I remember Naked Eyes cover. I don’t remember either of the 60s artists dueling today doing this song. Heck, I’m not sure if I remember them period. I gave each a fair listen, though. My ears didn’t care too much for Sandie’s cut. Maybe, all that wanted was to hear male vocals doing this song because they liked the R&B vibes of Lou Johnson best, so he gets my vote. Nice battle!

    Curious as a Cathy presents: Superstition #BoTB showdown

    Like

  5. I learn something every time. I know the 80’s version but didn’t know the who wrote it and who sang it. I enjoyed Lou Johnson and his styling because it reminded me of Bacharach more. Sandie’s was more pop for the times and so it didn;t stand out as much

    Like

  6. Put me down for Sandie. My mom was listening to this one, too, and as soon as Sandie came on she said, “Oooh, I like that one better.” Not that mom’s vote counts, but I had to agree.

    Like

  7. I had no idea this was a Burt Bacharach song, and never would have guessed that, hearing the Naked Eyes version – which was one of many early ’80s songs that drove me away from Rock and Pop.

    But when Lou Johnson does it, suddenly it sounds like a Bacharach tune (which is a GOOD thing).

    The second version was pretty decent – certainly better than the Naked Eyes – but my vote goes to LOU.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  8. Good song. I had no idea the song I’ve come to know and love is actually a remake. So many songs are remake and I never even notice. Of the two you provided, I like the Lou Johnson version the best.

    Like

  9. Another vote for Lou… Smoother, yes, and R&B / jazzy is never a bad thing 😉 That said, this is one of those songs that has always annoyed me (maybe because of its ubiquitousness?), and Sandie’s strident vocals — especially there at the chorus, “Always something there to remind me” — eeeeek! wince So yes, if given a choice (at gunpoint) of which version to listen to, Lou’s would be my pick 🙂
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

    Like

  10. I thought Bacharach and David wrote everything for Dionne Warwick! Love her version. But in this battle, though I’m not fond of the version’s ending, I vote for Lou Johnson!

    Nice one, John.

    Like

Leave a Reply

