Five “Blue” Songs

FridayFive

 

This one’s easy. Almost too easy. “Blue” comes up in the names of so many songs, I’m sure I’m going to leave out your favorite. But, that’s okay. Leave me a comment here or on Facebook, Twitter, or Google+ with your favorite “blue” song or songs, and I’ll add them to the playlist. Here’s how it starts…

  1. Blue Velvet – Bobby Vinton: The Polish Prince, from Canonsburg, Pennsylvania (as is Perry Como), has a wonderful voice and sings all kinds of songs like this one. I could probably do this whole Friday Five from songs he recorded. This one, from 1963, went to #1 on the Hot 100, the Cashbox singles chart, and on the Adult Contemporary chart that year.
  2. Blue Collar – Bachman-Turner Overdrive: I know I put this one in every chance I get, and I don’t care: I love this song, especially the guitar jam at the end. This was their second single, and rose to #68 in 1973.
  3. Yer Blues – The Beatles: Had to do this one for Lauralynn XD… Was never a single, but it’s still a great song.
  4. Bluer Than Blue – Michael Johnson: I should add this to the “lite rawk!” playlist, because it’s from that period. It rose to #12 on the Hot 100 and #1 on the Adult Contemporary chart in 1978.
  5. L’Amour Est Bleu (Love is Blue) – Paul Mauriat and his Orchestra: A song written by André Popp, with lyrics by Pierre Cour. It was entered into the 1967 Eurovision Song Contest, but didn’t win; however, the vocal version by Vicky Leandros (she did two versions, in French and English) became an international hit, joining Domenico Modugno’s “Volare” and Mocedades’ “Eres Tú” (both of which were featured yesterday) as the only songs that didn’t win the Eurovision contest to become international hits. Mauriat’s instrumental topped the Hot 100 in February and March of 1968, the only French artist to ever top that list.

That’s your Friday Five for October 23, 2015.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “Five “Blue” Songs”

  1. I don’t remember ever hearing BTO’s Blue Collar. Good song! Blue Velvet is such a classic. Great Friday Five

    Like

    1. And it’ll probably be playing in your head all day, and all week… but there are worse songs to get stuck in your head. “99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall” comes to mind…

      Like

Leave a Reply

