End of October (and Daylight Saving Time) The Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Eastern Airlines. Come Fly With Eastern!

When I first started coming to Atlanta, Eastern was the second-biggest airline flying in and out of Hartsfield Airport, at the time the second-busiest in the country (behind O’Hare Airport in Chicago). By the end of the 1980’s, they were out of business, leaving one and a half concourses empty and a whole lot of pilots, flight attendants, ground crew, and ticket agents out of work. Guess it was all the bad talk about how lousy they were, although I have to say every time I flew Eastern it was a pleasant experience: flights were on time leaving and arriving, baggage never lost, and everyone was pleasant. Don’t know what they were talking about. Anyway…

The Week That Was

Another musical week here. Monday’s Music Moves Me was another “freebie,” so I selected ten songs that had “free” in the title for your listening enjoyment. Arlee suggested a couple by Bruce Cockburn, which I added to the list, and thank you, Arlee, for suggesting them.

Two for Tuesday featured the songwriting team of George and Ira Gershwin. The songs were taken from the 1937 film Shall We Dance?, which starred Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers and also featured the man behind the voice of Fractured Fairy Tales, Edward Everett Horton.

One-Liner Wednesday was taken from that day’s blog post by blogger and hedge-fund manager James Altucher. His blog is worth reading, and is rarely about hedge funds. From the comments I received, it spoke to many of you. I wish I had heard his advice (not just in this article, but from his entire blog) forty years ago, but then, forty years ago, he was a child of five…

I also announced the results of my most-recent Battle of the Bands on Wednesday. This one, over whose 1964 single of Bacharach/David’s song “(There’s) Always Something There To Remind Me” people liked better, was a squeaker, with Lou Johnson winning by two votes over Sandie Shaw. The next Battle will be next Sunday, so be sure and watch for that.

The Thursday Ten featured songs in languages other than English. It was while putting the song list together that I learned about the Eurovision Song Contest, now in its 60th year, meaning the next contest, to be held in Sweden (since they won this year’s contest) May 10-14 of next year will be the 61st. (The contest started in 1956, like me). Expect some future Thursday Tens to feature winners and runners-up from that contest.

The Friday Five were five songs with “blue” in the title. There are hundreds, thousands even, of songs that have “blue” in the title, and I invited everyone to chime in with their favorites. Kip added five (of probably the hundred or so he could come up with) and Mollie added one. All of those will be added to the playlist, along with any others y’all can come up with, any time you can come up with one. Eventually I’ll create a page with the names and URL’s of all my playlists, since their numbers are growing.

Yesterday’s prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday was “beef,” so I kicked it off with the Wendy’s commercial from 1984 that featured Clara Peller saying “where’s the beef?” That careened into a discussion of the Chicago Stockyards and a business that grew up not far from there, a grocery called Moo and Oink. The commercials, incidentally, are a riot, and there’s a link to all of them and an example of one in the article.

This is the last Sunday of Daylight Saving Time. Be sure and “fall back” one hour at 2 AM next Sunday, as Ellen DeGeneres tells you in this PSA.

And congratulations to Michele over at Angels Bark on her second Blogiversary. You really ought to read her blog, if you don’t already. She does lots of music, too.

That’s it for this edition of The Week That Was. I’ll see you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

2 thoughts on “End of October (and Daylight Saving Time) The Week That Was”

  1. My first wife’s father worked for Eastern. The first time I ever flew, which was in 1980, it was on Eastern. I had nothing to compare my experience with back then, but I had no problems.

    I always like to promote the music of Bruce Cockburn. Though he can go to some political extremes at times, he has done some great music.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Wrote By Rote

    Like

    1. When I started traveling 75% of the time, the guys I worked with all told me to avoid Eastern, especially when coming to Atlanta. In retrospect, I think they just didn’t like Eastern’s frequent flyer program.

      Like

Leave a Reply

