Friday Five MORE: More Chicago Songs

Yesterday, we did ten songs that had Chicago in the title. By doing that, I managed to omit a whole bunch of songs that were about Chicago, or mentioned Chicago in the lyrics, or mentioned specific parts of Chicago. One song in particular was omitted, and people have been asking me, “Hey, why didn’t you include ‘Bad, Bad Leroy Brown’?”

Anyway, my mind wouldn’t let me rest unless I played that song, and a few others that didn’t fit the theme from yesterday, but I liked, or that I hadn’t heard until yesterday and liked, or whatever. So, here are five more Chicago songs, beginning with…

  1. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown – Jim Croce: When this first came out, Wally Phillips on WGN-AM in Chicago played it on his morning show every day for more than a month, and his listeners couldn’t get enough of it. This song spent two weeks at #1 on the Hot 100 in July 1973, and was the #2 single of that year according to Billboard magazine. It reached #1 in Chicago on WLS the week of July 16, but peaked at #5 on WCFL.
  2. LA Goodbye – The Ides of March: Jim Peterik and the boys from Berwyn, Illinois released this beautiful tune in early 1971. It reached #2 on WCFL the week of April 15, #5 on WLS a week earlier, but only rose as high as #73 on the Hot 100.
  3. Lake Shore Drive – Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah: Another beauty that was a minor hit in the Chicago area, mostly on FM stations (I couldn’t find it on the chart at either WLS or WCFL).
  4. South Side Irish – Arranmore: A song about growing up Irish on the South Side. I didn’t, but became an adopted South Sider when I married Mary, which was only permitted when she told her father I was a White Sox fan. Has a great line about the crosstown rivalry.
  5. Windy City Boogie – Nature Boy Brown and his Blues Ramblers: No lyrics, but the title mentions the Windy City and they are, after all, the Blues Ramblers. Wasn’t able to find much about Nature Boy, but it’s a great tune.

And that’s five more for Friday, October 30, 2015.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

3 thoughts on “Friday Five MORE: More Chicago Songs”

  1. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown by Croce is one of my all time favorite songs. I don’t know if it’s because it came out the year I was born or what. It’s a great song.

    Like

    1. That seems to be a favorite around these parts. I remember them playing it to death when it was out, and I was convinced they were going to revive it after Croce died later that year. But they found another song.

      Like

Leave a Reply

