BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “When The Saints Go Marchin’ In” Results

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

You remember my last battle, where the song was rock ‘n’ roll versions of the classic spiritual and Dixieland number, “When The Saints Go Marchin’ In.” Our contestants were Bill Haley and the Comets and Tony Sheridan and The Beat Brothers, better known as The Beatles. Here’s the result:

Bill Haley: 4
Tony Sheridan: 9

People generally said they liked the Elvis styling Sheridan gave to the song over Haley’s use of the song to introduce the members of the band. You have to admit, it is a good way to end a set or a concert. I also think Sheridan’s backup band might have influenced the vote some, leaving me to wonder if the vote might not have been closer had I neglected to include that salient point. Of course, the video was almost entirely pictures of the Fab Four in their Pete Best (and Stu Sutcliffe) days, and I’m sure enough of my readers knew that The Beatles often worked as Sheridan’s backup band when they were in Hamburg together, so I doubt not telling people would have made any difference whatsoever.

Anyway, congratulations to Tony Sheridan and The Beat Brothers, and a pat on the back to Bill Haley and the Comets for a job well done.

Be sure to join me on the 15th for the next Battle. It’s already written and waiting to be released on the world. It’s a song that was popular in the 1970’s and done by two different bands the same year, one of which was a hit in the US and the other in the UK.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

3 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “When The Saints Go Marchin’ In” Results”

    1. I know. I should have found a different video that didn’t show The Beatles all over it and neglected to point out that The Beat Brothers were the Fab Four. People would no doubt figure out who was the backup group, but it might have made things closer. I don’t think I’ll have the same problem with the next battle…

      Like

Leave a Reply

