Indescribable #socs

When I saw today’s prompt, I thought, “what was the candy bar that called itself ‘Indescribably Delicious’?” I had to look it up. They were the candy bars developed by Peter Paul: Mounds, Almond Joy, and Almond Cluster. Clearly, the same thought crossed Joanna’s mind, because her SoCS post today includes a classic commercial for Almond Joy and Almond Cluster. To complete your Saturday commercial viewing, here’s one for Mounds.

I love how the old commercials weren’t shy about showing you what went into their candy bars. “It’s a lump of coconut covered with dark chocolate.” Mom used to love the Forever Yours candy bar from Mars because it was a dark chocolate Milky Way. Now I guess they call it the Dark Chocolate Milky Way. No imagination…

I love these old commercials and old TV shows, because they take me back to a happier, more peaceful time. A more innocent time. A time when people weren’t committing acts of terror.

eiffel-tower-303341_640
Source: pixabay.com

I don’t want to talk about what happened in Paris, or hear about it. I know, I’m an adult and I need to know about these things. And certainly, the people of Paris are in my heart and in my thoughts and prayers. But, now that we have 24-hour news channels and the Internet, you get to watch it, hear about it, discuss it, fight over it, and in general let it take over your life. None of us needs that right now. Yes, it happened, and it was horrifying, but obsessing over it, and losing sleep over it, and getting caught up in the emotions and anger of it hurts us more than it hurts the people who did this, and does nothing to help the people who are left with the aftermath of this tragedy. Pray, or do whatever you do in this situation, for the people of Paris. Do what you can do for them; I’m certain there will be calls for donations at some point.

It may seem odd, playing a happy little tune at a time like this, but I see it as a tribute to the indomitable spirit and inner toughness of the residents of the City of Lights. From 1956, Les Baxter and his Orchestra, “The Poor People of Paris.”


socs-badge-2015

An entry into Linda Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday. She has the rules right here.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “Indescribable #socs”

  1. I’m with you, John. Darkness can’t eradicate darkness; only light can. Hate can’t eradicate hate; only love can. And a tragic outlook will never eradicate tragedy… only hope and cheer can. Yes, even in the face of tragedy. Especially in the face of tragedy. Great post. (And now I’m craving a Mounds 😀 )
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think all of us Americans of a certain age remember “indescribably delicious” and of course I thought of it too. I told Dan it is probably branded into our brains. I have thought too, many times, how our childhoods were in many ways happier times in that there was this belief in happy endings and we were sheltered from a lot of harshness. Even though personally my family had problems, I could watch Disney and things seemed all right. Or at least there was a belief that things could be all right. I know what you mean by the overload 24 hour news. Makes me glad we don’t have cable anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

