The Thanksgiving Ten: Songs About Food

image

What else would I write about on Thanksgiving? Just so you know upfront, my usual stringent requirements for choosing songs for these lists go out the window today. It’s a holiday! Anyway, here we go…

  1. R. C. Cola and a Moon Pie – NRBQ: The New Rhythm & Blues Quartet has been around for years, flying under the radar of most of the music press. The closest they came to a hit was “Get That Gasoline Blues,” which reached #70 on the Hot 100 in 1974. Still, they have plenty of fans, making them something of a cult favorite.
  2. Fried Pies – Wes Montgomery: I had to include this one from the legendary jazz guitarist.
  3. Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs – Kelsey Grammer: A short segment of this was used as the musc over the credits for Frasier, but here we stretch it out to almost four-and-a-half minutes, throw in some Manhattan Transfer-type harmonies, and let the guys in the band air it out.
  4. That’s Amore – Dean Martin: A love song that compares love to pizza, wine, and pasta e fagioli (pronounced like “pasta fazool” like they do in old Napoli).
  5. Road Food – The Guess Who: The title track from their 1974 album, which I thought was better than the critics did.
  6. Cheeseburger In Paradise – Jimmy Buffett: No collection of songs about food is complete without this one.
  7. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) – Hank Williams: I decided on this version instead of the one by the Blue Ridge Rangers (John Fogerty playing multiple instruments). A song about bringing his best girl Yvonne home to meet the family in Cajun country, and you just know there’s gonna be food.
  8. Eggs and Sausage – Tom Waits: I believe this is from Tom’s appearance on WTTW’s Soundstage, which as I recall was taped at The Quiet Knight, a nightclub in Chicago that he played at frequently. There was a diner next door to the club (the name escapes me; I ate there once, a less-than-memorable occasion) where I think this was filmed.
  9. Hi-De-Ho – Blood, Sweat & Tears: A song by Goffin and King that talks about “that old sweet roll.” It’s off their third album (called, oddly enough, Blood, Sweat & Tears 3), one of the only listenable tracks on it.
  10. Green Onions – Booker T. & the M. G.’s: A great rock instrumental by a band known for their instrumental ability.

Most of these selections came off the top of my head, but the rest can be found on this extensive list of songs about food.

That’s your Thursday Ten for November 26, 2015. Happy Thanksgiving, y’all!

CRNCPCTY
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

5 thoughts on “The Thanksgiving Ten: Songs About Food”

  1. I remember there being a song called “Red Beans and Rice” on the Brian Auger album Definitely What that I used to have long ago, but it must have been among the albums I sold a few years ago. I probably should have kept that album as it was a good one.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. It’s one of the few songs on “BS&T 3” that I like, along with “Lucretia MacEvil” and “He’s A Runner.” (I don’t like what they did to “Sympathy for the Devil” or “40,000 Headmen.”) But yes, Goffin/King wrote a ton of hits and near-hits, and they’re all worth a listen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

