This Is An IFTTT Test

Testcard_F
The BBC’s Test Card F, featuring the lovely Carol Hersee (source: Wikipedia)

Damien Riley, whose blog you should be reading, has been doing a lot of crossposting between WordPress, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, and LiveJournal using IFTTT. I haven’t been quite as active on it, because I allow WordPress to post to Facebook and Twitter. I asked him why he doesn’t do that as well, and he told me it was because he couldn’t control what was being posted to social media as well with the WP built-in function.

IFTTT_Logo_2015
© IFTTT (source: Wikipedia)

I thought about it, and you know, he’s right. It works all right for Twitter, but on Facebook it just dumps part of the text of the post in my timeline and says there’s more, and doesn’t really put a link post out there. So, I’m going to try doing both of these with IFTTT and see if the result is more aesthethically pleasing. If you see the Facebook link post and/or the Tweet, how do you like the way they’re coming across?

I’m already using IFTTT to publicize my posts to Pinterest, where I have a board specifically set up for my posts here. I haven’t quite got the hang of Pinterest yet, but I’ve gotten better. I’m still publicizing to Google+ through WordPress, because IFTTT doesn’t post to it, and no one seems to know what the future holds for Google+, anyway….

We now return you to our regularly-scheduled program.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “This Is An IFTTT Test”

  1. IFTTT needs AND / OR multiple conditionals to be truly useful to me. I’d like it to do something like this –

    IF (Homeboy camera driveway east detects motion) AND (interior WeMo sensor detects motion) THEN (email me an intruder message) AND (post a notification to my iPhone)

    I would think having IFTTT post your new blog notifications to Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn and the rest of your social networks with a single conditional statement would be very useful.

    Like

    1. Uh huh. I had to set up three separate “recipes” to post to FB, Twitter, and Pinterest, and I simulcast the blog onto Blogger with yet another, and back up the posts to a text file and to Evernote with two more. If I could do it all in one big ol’ statement, it would surely be less maintenance. On the other hand, if one of the crossposts goes haywire, what might that do to the rest of the statements? One would think that the others could continue, but it might not work that way.

      Like

  2. @Mark, they have some triggers there for “smart homes.” Who knows, perhaps they will develop what you’re looking for in time.
    @John: On the WP to IFTTT to FB experiment, let me know what you find. I found the most “pretty” one was the built in WP share broadcast. It depends on how you choose to set it up. I suspect strongly that Facebook’s algorithms excluded the WordPress app from getting out to friends and that’s the reason I stopped using it. It’s just a suspicion but I found out the best way as far as getting attention is to post the permalink manually in a Facebook post. Those posts tend to get likes whereas piping in from WordPress sharing app tend not to. Just an observation. Thanks for the plug, I am indeed having fun crossposting stuff. I do my #Diary posts from LiveJournal which gives me the attention of that community while offering my freestyle diary on Riley Central (WP) as well. You rock John thanks again.

    Like

    1. I didn’t have any problems with things getting posted to Facebook from the WordPress application. It could be because my blog is on WordPress while yours is self-hosted. You never know.

      The experiment was a success on both Facebook and Twitter. IFTTT creates a link post on Facebook, and does about what you’d expect on Twitter (pretty much the same thing it was doing before, although I have it appending “New post” to the title and link). Pinterest works as long as there’s an image in the post (after all, Pinterest kind of works with images…)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome. It’s fun to play with, give you some options. I wasn’t saying the native WordPress didn’t share to Facebook but my wife and others told me they never saw it on their Newsfeed which causes me to suspect Facebook favors regular link posts from within Facebook over services and apps piping it in. Again, I have only my experience as proof.

        Like

        1. Facebook does all kinds of weird things, especially lately. You’ll see a post that has 50 comments, and you’ll only see two, because by default it shows you the “most popular” ones. Their algorithm for determining what you do and don’t see makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. It might get better if I use lists, but I doubt it…

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

