The First Sunday of Advent Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Norelco. Even our name says “Merry Christmas!”

The Norelco Christmas commercials are the best. ‘Nuff said.

The Week That Was

It was Thanksgiving week, so naturally the week was focused on “thanks” and “food.” Monday’s Music Moves Me featured songs that had the word “thank” in them in some form, although I added one song that didn’t fit my theme, “Count Your Blessings Instead Of Sheep,” in honor of the many people who stop by the blog and leave comments. Everyone who commented seemed to like the songs I chose, and I thank you for that.

Two for Tuesday featured the songwriting team of Elton John and Bernie Taupin, who had tremendous success during the 1970’s, when you could hardly turn on the radio without hearing one of Sir Elton’s songs being played. Arlee said he likes the songs from Elton’s 1971 album, Madman Across The Water, which included the hit singles “Tiny Dancer” and “Levon,” two of my favorite songs from that period. Lauralynn said she blows hot and cold on Elton and Bernie, but while she doesn’t like many female singers for whatever reason, she loves Lulu. Hey, who doesn’t love the wee lass from Lennoxtown, East Dumbartonshire? Incidentally, “I Can’t Go On (Living Without You)” placed sixth out of seven in the UK contest to decide what song she’d sing in the Eurovision Song Contest. The song she eventually sang, “Boom Bang-a-Bang,” was in a three-way tie for first in the international contest. Here’s that award-winning performance.

Monty Python’s Flying Circus parodied the song later. I think it was Graham Chapman in a WWI German uniform singing it. But anyway…

One-Liner Wednesday featured a quote from Josh Fruhlinger, better known as “The Comics Curmudgeon.” It didn’t get a whole lot of attention, but what can you do?

The Thursday Ten featured songs about food, and as it was a holiday, I wasn’t especially fussy about how much they were about food. So, I included Blood, Sweat, and Tears’ “Hi-De-Ho” from their third album, a song Nadine likes a lot. She didn’t know that Gerry Goffin and Carole King had written it. Arlee remembered a song from 1967 by Brian Auger called “Red Beans and Rice.” Had I known about it before I started the list, I would have included it, because, as they say, it’s FONKY! There’s a video of a live performance of it in the comments, if you want to hear it.

Since Thanksgiving was over and the Christmas shopping season was underway, I figured it was okay to start with the Christmas music. Thus, The Friday Five consisted of surf Christmas songs, including The Ventures’ superb rendition of “Sleigh Ride,” which sounds a lot like “Walk, Don’t Run.” Debbie thought it was an interesting genre of music for Christmas songs, and also agreed that more people are doing their Christmas shopping online, accounting for the lack of traffic at the shopping malls.

The prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday, chosen by Pavowsky in Linda Hill’s absence, was “stuff.” Besides being one of my favorite words, it’s also the bane of my existence. Arlee, who had written on the subject of stuff on his memoir blog, said we should have done a blogfest. One of the recurring themes was the reluctance to get rid of something lest you find yourself needing it later. Hey, I can sympathize. I’m doing my best to take all the random important pieces of paper I get in the mail and scan them into Evernote, after which I can get rid of the paper. Likewise with product manuals: I download the PDF copy into either Evernote or Dropbox and toss the paper copy. I have cats. They get hold of paper and tear it, throw up on it, or worse. And I already have an office loaded with paper, thank you very much.

I had a couple of technical adventures this week. One was late Tuesday night, when I downloaded a different theme and changed the look of my blog. I was especially happy with the way it looked, but my brother, who reads the blog on his phone, hated it. When I looked at the blog on my phone, I understood why: there was no mobile theme that accompanied the one that looked great on my desktop but not good on a smaller device. So, I switched back to the old theme, and all was well. If you use WordPress, make sure the theme you choose looks just as good on a smartphone as it does on the desktop.

Yesterday, I followed the lead of Damien Riley and am now using IFTTT to publicize my blog on Facebook and Twitter. I had been allowing WordPress to send whatever it sends to those two places; while that’s all right for Twitter, Facebook tends to get about half the post. Now I pass the link to Facebook and let that post. Looks much nicer. Mark mentioned that he’d like to see IFTTT allow multiple actions after a trigger, something that would solve all kinds of problems.

That’s it for this week’s edition. This week, a freebie for Monday’s Music Moves Me, another songwriting team on Two for Tuesday and a Battle of the Bands, and all your favorites. See you soon.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

4 thoughts on “The First Sunday of Advent Week That Was”

  1. There used to be a great version of “Red Beans and Rice” by the Jazz Crusaders on YouTube, but I can’t find it anymore. I’d got to thinking how it might make for a good BOTB selection and when I looked for that one it was nowhere that I could find it.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. I did find a version by Booker T and the MG’s, and a few other songs called “red beans and rice” that were clearly of newer vintage (hip-hop or rap). No luck looking for the Jazz Crusaders’ version, but I did find an interesting version by Bernard “Pretty” Purdie when trying to find the Crusaders’ version by searching on individual members. Just a couple of suggestions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

