Jeff Barry & Ellie Greenwich, “Baby I Love You” #botb #TwoForTuesday

SongwritingTeamsGraphic

That’s right, it’s a mashup of Two for Tuesday and Battle of the Bands! This December, both Battles of the Bands happen on Tuesday, a day I feature two songs by an artist. Since I’m featuring songwriting teams this month, rather than playing two songs by the team, I’ll be playing the same song by two different artists and let you choose which you like better.

Today’s Two for Tuesday songwriting team is Jeff Barry and Ellie Greenwich, a husband-and-wife team who wrote songs for The Ronettes (often with Phil Spector), The Crystals, The Chiffons, and others during their five-year collaboration (also the five years they were married). They’re also the people responsible for giving Neil Diamond his start. In 1966, Barry produced tracks for The Monkees, who recorded Diamond’s “I’m a Believer” and “A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You.” They’re members of the Songwriters’ Hall of Fame (1991) and six of their songs were on Rolling Stone’s 2004 list of “The 500 Greatest Rock Songs.”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

The song I chose for this Battle is Barry & Greenwich’s “Baby I Love You.” Written in 1963 with Phil Spector (of “Wall O’ Sound” fame) for The Ronettes, it reached #2 on the Hot 100 and #4 on the R&B chart, and #4 on the UK Singles chart that year. It’s been covered a number of times, by artists such as The Ramones, Dave Edmunds, Cher, Tommy Roe, Linda Ronstadt, and our two contestants for today.

CONTESTANT #1: Andy Kim

Andy Kim recorded it in 1969 as the title track for his album that year. His version reached #9 and was a gold record for him the same year.

CONTESTANT #2: TSD

TSD (who named themselves by drawing three Scrabble letters) was a British girl band from the 1990’s that had a #64 hit with the song in 1996. One of the members, Claire Richards, later joined the band Steps, who were considerably more successful.

Now, it’s time to vote…

Which of the two versions of “Baby I Love You” did you like better? Andy Kim’s version, maybe more familiar than The Ronettes’? Or were you enchanted by the girl-band styling of TSD? Whichever is the case, vote for your favorite in the comments below, and tell us why you liked that one better.

Then, when you’ve finished with that, how about visiting some of the other battles happening today?

Tossing It Out
Far Away Series
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
This Belle Rocks
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Janie Junebug Righting and Editing
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

I’ll be announcing the winner of this Battle this coming Sunday as part of “The Week That Was,” so be sure and get your vote in soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

17 thoughts on “Jeff Barry & Ellie Greenwich, “Baby I Love You” #botb #TwoForTuesday”

  1. I like TSD better. Their version had more energy and I like their harmonies. Give my vote to them please.
    PS: interesting that they chose their name by picking 3 Scrabble letters!!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. Hi John, I remember and liked the song. I wasn’t an Andy Kim fan but I like his version better TSD. Maybe I shouldn’t have watched their video. That’s my story. Andy Kim, please.

    Like

  3. Oh give me the Andy Kim. I know this version well and like his stylings better than the pop version. The pop version is like many other pop styles so the Kim version gets my vote

    Like

  4. What a classic! I don’t think I’ve heard this song in years. I missed the TSD version when it came out. I don’t like the TSD update all that much though it’s done well.

    I vote for the more Spector sounding version by Andy Kim.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  5. I thought this might be tight for me. Unlike many folks, I actually like pop. (Meaning just hearing the word doesn’t make me cringe.) I liked TSD okay, but Andy Kim’s recording was much more appealing to these ears. Chalk one for Andy Kim.

    Like

  6. Okay, I’m a sucker for an all girl band. And TSD was great fun to watch and listen to. Sounded like they were influenced by Kylie Minogue somewhat. Nevertheless, it was a great song selection for this battle. And being an Anglophile as well, their being British certainly helped as well.

    Like

  7. I was beginning to think I’d never heard this song… until it got to the chorus and then I recognized it as a “Ronettes” hit. I don’t dislike the song but it’s a bit too simplistic for my tastes. However, this is the sort of song The Beach Boys could take and develop into something kinda special with all their fabulous layered harmonies.

    Also, I have always been under the impression that Andy Kim was a One-Hit-Wonder (‘ROCK ME GENTLY’, which I really love!) but to my surprise ‘The Billboard Book of Top 40 Hits’ shows Kim had more (and bigger) hits than The Ronettes did. Wow! Who knew?

    The Scrabble Sisters weren’t too bad at first, but then the song went on too long and that background riff just got really repetitive and stale. (This didn’t affect my vote but the video was pretty bad, also. And The Scrabble Sisters didn’t have the bodies necessary to get away with wearing those outfits. Who was their manager?)

    A lukewarm vote for ANDY KIM (who never nailed it better’n ‘Rock Me Gently’).

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  8. I’m an Andy Kim fan, and I really like his version better. However, I was surprised at how much I liked TSD’s version. Their version was fun.

    As to Stephen’s remark about the girls not having the bodies to wear those outfits, I’ll just say I would be perfectly happy to have a body like that (although I wouldn’t wear anything like that). Men! LOL

    Like

  9. You know, I have to admit that I almost forgot that Andy Kim sang anything (thanks, Stephen, for giving me the hint I needed to jar my neurons of memory). AK’s take wasn’t bad.

    But I loved TSD and I don’t care what they look like as long and they can hold a tune.

    BTW, I love when someone resurrects a song or singer I’ve forgotten. It’s like a gift.

    Like

  10. Andy Kim’s version gets my vote it sounded it like it was 1969. TSD tried to be retro with a different beat and it didn’t work for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

