#1LinerWeds from P. J. O’Rourke

The-world-is-being-run

I was going to use this last week, but found the quote from Abe Lincoln and decided to use that one instead. P. J. O’Rourke is “must” reading for election years, especially his book from the last Presidential election year, Don’t Vote, It Just Encourages The Bastards. It has replaced his Parliament of Whores as my favorite of his books. But then, all of them are pretty good.


One-Liner Wednesday is brought to you by Linda Hill, whose post I actually waited for so I could ping back to it.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

11 thoughts on “#1LinerWeds from P. J. O’Rourke”

  1. Considering where I work, and what I see, I would say it isn’t going to get much better soon. I like PJ, although sometimes I’d like to slap him.

    Like

  2. Wow! Better than ‘PARLIAMENT OF WHORES’? Because I LOVED that one. I even wrote an Amazon.scum review for that book.

    I also really enjoyed ‘HOLIDAYS IN HELL’, but ‘PARLIAMENT…’ is a political classic. However, even the title, ‘DON’T VOTE, IT JUST ENCOURAGES THE BASTARDS’, has all the makings of another classic.

    These days, though, my favorite political writer is Fred Reed, and 2 of my last 3 blog bits have been about him.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  3. Politics has become scary, hasn’t it? 😛 Hope I didn’t make you wait this week! I really should get into the habit of writing them the night before and scheduling. I hope to do that with JusJoJan. 🙂

    Like

    1. No, you didn’t make me wait. I haven’t even written it yet.

      I wouldn’t say “scary.” Disturbing, maybe. I don’t see anyone running that’s worth my vote, so I might just vote for one of the third parties as a form of protest. We really need “none of the above” on the ballot, and for it to actually mean something (i.e. if NOTA wins, we start over again with completely new candidates).

      Like

Leave a Reply

