My Year In Review

Everyone else seems to be sharing their year in review from WordPress.com, so I guess I should, eh what?

Annual Report for The Sound of One Hand Typing

I want to thank all of you who came to visit this past year, particularly the members of my family, who didn’t even know I was doing this until I started publicizing on Facebook. I’m not sure why I didn’t start that before. I mean, the blog’s been around since early 2012 (even earlier, but only as a private blog), but it’s only in the past year that I’ve gotten this much traffic. I started simulcasting the blog on Blogger, and I have a few faithful readers there, and I’ve continued with the A to Z Challenge, Stream of Consciousness Saturday, and the Battle of the Bands (I think I picked a good one for tomorrow, so be here for that), and started doing One-Liner Wednesday and Monday’s Music Moves Me, all of which have given me something to write every day. Thanks to the people who make those things so much fun to be part of and who have encouraged me to join in: Arlee Bird and the other sponsors of the A to Z Challenge, Stephen T. McCarthy and everyone who joins in the Battles of the Bands, X-Mas Dolly who invited me to Monday’s Music Moves Me, and Linda Hill, who created SoCS, One-Liner Wednesday, and next month’s Just Jot It January (JusJoJan).

Be careful if you’re going out tonight; someone on Twitter called it “Amateur Night” because of all the people who are going to be out drinking and driving. Mary and I stay home on New Year’s Eve. We’ve already had our dinner of pizza rolls (I don’t know how that got started, but we have pizza rolls for dinner every New Year’s Eve) and will probably be watching Perry Mason and drifting off to sleep when midnight comes. Be safe, Happy New Year, and the fun starts again tomorrow!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “My Year In Review”

  1. Happy New Year, John! Doing a blogging recap sounds like an excellent idea. I wish I thought to do that. I hope to plan better throughout this year. I continue to make baby steps in the right direction. Hopefully I’ll get my act together just the way I want. Slow progress is better than no progress, right? All that being said, I like many of the memes you participate in daily. Once life settles on this end, who knows when that will be, I will get back to posting every day. Here’s to a brand new year in Blogosphere with you, my friend!

    Like

    1. Did you get your end-of-year report from WordPress? That’s what got me started.

      I’m a horrible planner… a lot of times I sit down with no idea what I’m going to write about. On the other hand, I’m pretty much retired, so I have lots of time to come up with blog ideas. I am getting better, though; the memes have certainly helped.

      This will be a good year, for certain! Looking forward to it!

      Like

      1. Yes, John I got it. Thanks for the reminder. When it came in I thought about using the stats in a post, but then I forgot. It was your year end review that inspired me to share my own review, which is set to go live tonight at midnight. I’m not much of a planner, either. But, I hope to improve to improve this weak spot of mine this year. I think you’re right, 2016 is gonna be an outstanding year!

        Like

  2. Pizza rolls sounds good. I was already in bed before 1200 rolle around though. LOL
    I did my own 2015 review, but in doing so I think I taxed my system. I won’t be having a BOTB for the 1st. It got to be late and I didn’t feel well enough to do one anyway.
    I will be checking out your battle before the polls close, so don’t worry about that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

