BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “My Special Angel”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

Hi, everyone, and Happy New Year! I hope you had a good evening last night and you’re not nursing too much of a hangover today.

Today’s song is one you might be familiar with, “My Special Angel.” It was written by Jimmy Duncan in 1957, and first recorded by Bobby Helms (of “Jingle Bell Rock” fame) that year. It was a crossover hit for him, charting at #1 for four weeks on the Country chart and reaching #7 on the Hot 100. This isn’t part of the battle; I’ve just included it for your musical enjoyment.

It’s been covered by many acts, including Bobby Vinton, Bill Haley and the Comets, Glen Campbell, and the three acts I’ve selected for this battle. Yes, three; I couldn’t choose just two, and thought, it’s a short song, three shouldn’t cause too much grief. Here are your choices.

CONTESTANT #1: Jerry Vale

Jerry recorded his version for his 1969 album Till.

CONTESTANT #2: Malcolm Vaughan

Malcolm Vaughan also recorded his version in 1957. It spent 14 weeks on the UK charts, peaking at #3.

CONTESTANT #3: The Vogues

The Vogues released their version in 1968. It reached #7 on the Hot 100, and spent two weeks at #1 on the Easy Listening chart.

Now, it’s time to vote…

Whose version of “My Special Angel” did you like the best? Jerry Vale’s, Malcolm Vaughan’s, or The Vogues’? Give them all a listen and leave your vote in the comment section below. I think they’re all pretty similar, but just different enough to make this a horse race. Then, how about visiting these blogs and seeing what sort of battles they’re doing today?

Tossing It Out
Far Away Series
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
This Belle Rocks
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Janie Junebug Righting and Editing
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

I’ll announce the winner of this Battle next Thursday, January 7. May the best “special angel” win!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

14 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “My Special Angel””

  1. I couldn’t listen to Malcolm Vaughan’s version here so I went over to Youtube. I gave all a listen and I like Malcolm’s the best! I love his voice and it just seemed ethereal enough for the song even though the first song actually used an angel. The first guy seemed too slick for my taste and the last one-too boy band so Malcolm gets my vote. Sad new today about Wayne Rogers and Natalie Cole passing away.

    Like

  2. My father would rise from his grave (and be ticked off that he had to do so) if I didn’t give my vote to Jerry Vale. He played that guys stuff non-stop, ha ha. It evoked a nice memory for me. Thank you for that!

    Happy New Year, dear!

    Like

  3. All three are good. I liked Jerry Vale’s version most though so please give him my vote. Nice song!

    Happy New Year John. It’s going to be a good one, I can feel it! Hope it’s good to you…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  4. Well, to be brutally honest, I have always hated this song. It’s one of those sickeningly sweet confections (a la “Feelings” by Morris Albert) that just should have been strangled to death with its own umbilical cord before it ever saw the light of day.

    And not two, but three times the pleasure, eh?
    OK.

    Well, I’ll vote for THE VOGUES. At least the singing / harmonizing was good and there was a blast of sax there at the end.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  5. Hi John, Happy New Year to you!

    I grew up with my Jerry Vale and The Vogues on this song. It wasn’t a favorite of mine – my parents insisted. You know how that goes?! Still, I’m partial to The Vogues’ harmony and ‘soothing-er’ sound. Add a vote for them, for me, please.

    I do have a battle posted… feel free to stop over.
    http://cringe53.blogspot.com/

    Like

  6. This is a real classic oldie. A nice song to listen to but not one that I go out of my way to listen to, but it’s always nice to hear. The first two versions cancelled each other out due to their similarity–well aside from the voices. I’m most familiar with the Vogues version.

    I’m going with the Vogues.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  7. I liked the first one okay (Hale). I didn’t like the second at all. The real winner here was The Vogues. I enjoyed the harmonies and the sax. So, cast a vote for The Vogues!

    Like

  8. I know I’m really late getting around to vote at BOTB, but SHEESH, John; I had to scroll back through 8 posts to find this and it’s only very early on the 6th of January. You sure do post a lot.

    Being so late a 3-way is almost more time than I can give, but I did give it. I remember my daddy listening to Jerry Vale, but I didn’t remember his as being so awful, but then I listened to Malcolm and thought; OK, Jerry’s not that bad. Finally, The Vogues somebody I can vote for without a cringe thrown in.

    Like

  9. All three (four) versions of the song presented here are awesome. It was a difficult choice for me, but I finally decided on the Vogues. A close second was Jerry Vale.
    Thanks for being patient for my vote.

    Like

Leave a Reply

