Paws/Pause #socs #JusJoJan

I had to pause for a moment and consider whether I wanted to talk about the cats, all of whom have four paws. In the end, I decided not to. The cats are a huge part of my life, but it’s like not wanting to talk about your kids on your blog. And, of course, if I were to talk about them, everyone would say, “oh, do you have any pictures of your cats?” and the fact is, I don’t. All the pictures of my cats we have are of ones who have slipped off to the Rainbow Bridge; I don’t have any current ones, because neither Mary nor myself take any. I was bad enough at taking pictures before the stroke, and have just gotten worse now that I have only one hand working.

I did manage to get some pretty good pictures of a rainbow that appeared in the sky the other day (I think it was Sunday).

2015-12-27 16.08.51
The best of the bunch

I had that picture on my phone, and I just paused to look at the other pictures I have there.

Do you do this? Collect a bunch of pictures from online, like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, and other places? I do. I’m always worried about using them on the blog, though, because I don’t know what, if any, copyright there is on them. But I’ve managed to amass quite a collection of them. I don’t know why, but I have them. Sometimes I’ll pause and look through them. I don’t know why I do it. Maybe just because it’s something to do.


socs-badge-2015

This Stream of Consciousness Saturday entry was done in response to a prompt by Linda Hill, who comes up with a prompt every Friday for the next day. If you’d like to play along, she has all the rules over at her place. Linda has also declared this Just Jot It January, so the entry is also for that.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

20 thoughts on “Paws/Pause #socs #JusJoJan”

  1. Am loving the rainbow :-). I think looking at pictures is just soooooo relaxing. No need to know why you do it.

    I usually use pictures from Flickr if I do not use my own. You can filter different permissions so you can find those that can be used on your blog.

    Like

    1. I’ve seen lots of articles that talk about different places where you can get royalty-free pictures, but typically you have to become a paid subscriber to access them unless you want a nasty watermark on them. I found a bunch of disks of clipart that I think I can use without too much hassle. I’m also learning how to use Inkscape and build my own vectors, so maybe by the middle of the year (or sooner), I’ll be doing some of those. Maybe. I’m not exactly the artistic type…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You don’t need to at Flickr. You need to be a member but don’t pay anything. I just make sure I put a link to the profile of the pictures owner. Oh I can’t wait to see

        Like

  2. Gorgeous rainbow. 🙂 I take far more pictures now that I always have a camera with me than I’ve done at any other time in my life. I’d love to get a good one though. Too expensive at the moment. I follow a lot of photo blogs – there’s so much talent out there!

    Like

      1. Wow. That’s not many. Sometimes I go years without seeing one and then I’ll get to see half a dozen in a month. I once saw one that was a perfect circle in the sky. Unfortunately it was before cell phones had cameras…

        Like

        1. Cellphones (and especially smartphones) changed the way we look at the world drastically. My brother has a theory that a lot of TV and movie scripts from the past have been rendered invalid because everyone has a cellphone with them all the time. How often has not being able to get in touch with someone, or needing to find a payphone,. or sitting at home waiting for a phone call been used as a plot device? XD

          Like

Leave a Reply

