Question of the Month: Resolutions? What Resolutions?

QotMBadge

I almost forgot, it’s time for the Question of the Month, which is sponsored by Michael D’Agostino over at A Life Examined, who asked the musical question:

What are some new year’s resolutions you’ve had in the past?

New Year’s resolutions are a waste of time, at least where I’m concerned. I’m so scatterbrained, I forget I made the resolution, and when someone asks, “How’s that New Year’s resolution coming, John?” all I can do is stand there with a dumb look on my face (which, incidentally, I do very well).

I used to participate in A Round Of Words In 80 Days, where you set goals for yourself, tell the world you’ve set them, then report on your progress every week. I was awful at it, and decided last April, after doing it for three years, it wasn’t doing me any good, because I’d forget to work on any of the goals I had set for myself. I looked like an idiot. At some point, I might get back to doing it, but that won’t be any time soon.

The one resolution I’ve kept is the resolution to post to the blog every day. I started doing that on July 1, 2014, and haven’t missed a day yet. That’s eighteen months and five days ago, at least one entry a day. That’s a lot of writing, much more than I ever imagined myself doing. Maybe too much writing.

There are plenty of things I want to do: become less verbose, teach myself Inkscape, use more pictures and artwork on the blog, build up a backlog of entries so I’m not rushing around at the last minute to get blog entries posted, reply to comments in a timely fashion (and don’t forget the ones made on the FM blog!), things like that. And I am doing those things. Maybe not as quickly or as completely as I’d like, but it’s coming along, I’m happy to say. I don’t want to make these things into formal goals, or resolutions or whatever you want to call them, because, knowing me, I would stop working on them.

I think it’s the rebel in me. I’ve never liked taking orders from anyone, least of all myself.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

11 thoughts on “Question of the Month: Resolutions? What Resolutions?”

  1. I don’t make resolutions. I set goals, but not on new year’s day. I set a goal when I need to do so, and I try not to be too hard on myself if I don’t meet the goal.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

  2. You’ve done very well at posting every day. After my first year of doing that it became a bit burdensome for me. There are plenty of things I’d like to accomplish, but these days making it out of bed each morning and back again at night is pretty good to me.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. Makes sense. Writing a blog post every day is brilliant. I wish I could but I’m not going to set myself goals that will take the pleasure out of it. Glad to be here. Happy New Year. I love the name of your blog.

    Like

    1. I generally try and get a few entries ahead to give myself a break a couple of times a week. And with A to Z, I try and get the entries written before April 1. Since I’m a sponsor, I like to leave the days open to give me more time to visit other blogs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

