#JusJoJan: Remember that the mighty oak was once a nut like you

Today’s Just Jot It January prompt is “robust” (thanks a lot, Michael from Morpethroad). Not one of those words I use frequently. Our marketing people used to say we sold “robust applications”; I always felt silly saying that. Makes them sound like wine (which I know diddly squat about) or coffee (which I know a little more about, but I wouldn’t call myself a connoisseur who uses words like “robust”).

So, off to the Free Dictionary for their take on the word I went, and discovered that the word came from the Latin word rōbur, their word for “oak.”


Pedunculate oak foliage and acorns (Source: Wikipedia/MPF, CC BY-SA 3.0)

For some reason, the first thing that came to mind was “Heart of Oak,” the official march of the Royal Navy of the United Kingdom.

While I was listening to that, I remembered that Chicago has an Oak Street, with a popular beach at the end of it.

14956939269_f4090ab54f_z
Oak Street Beach, Chicago (Source: Doug Sun Beams/Flickr, CC BY 2.0)

And I remembered that my grandparents (Walkie and Hicks) used to get their milk from the Twin Oaks Dairy, back in the days when people had their milk delivered. If you Google “Twin Oaks Dairy,” there are lots of them out there, none of which are the one I’m talking about. I found the obituary of one of the founders, Henry Duda. He was an independent milk vendor who got together with others and bought a milk processing plant in 1957.

Amazing the things you can find on the Internet…


Just Jot It January is hosted by Linda Hill.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “#JusJoJan: Remember that the mighty oak was once a nut like you”

  1. Funny how your post relates to me in a couple of obscure and unrelated ways.

    1 – My godfather Elmer Jurgens, who lived across the street from us in Carpentersville, was a milkman. I don’t remember the name of the dairy, and evidently neither does Google. (I guess Google was too busy starring in comics with Snuffy Smith … but I digress.)

    2 – I helped name a church that I didn’t attend – Oak Ridge Community Church in Clarksville, MD. (Another C’ville …. hmmm….). Anyway … Oak Ridge was a “church plant” from the church where Lisa and I met. They asked for suggestions for a name, and the only “plant” Bible verse I could think of was from Isaiah 61:3: “They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor”. I guess they liked it.

    There must be some word to describe this “reminds me of…” sort of thing. If not, there should be. And there must be one in German – they have a run-on word for everything. But I’m sure it isn’t “robust”.

    Like

    1. You’d think so. Unfortunately, I never learned German. It wasn’t offered at either high school I attended, and Mom was a bit insistent on Latin.

      I wish whoever draws “Barney Google and Snuffy Smith” would bring Barney back on a more regular basis. The cornpone comedy gets a little tiresome sometimes.

      Like

    1. They age it in oak barrels. Same with whiskey (Jack Daniel’s I know is aged it that way). Scotch whiskey, too; Jack Daniel’s sends some of their used barrels to distilleries in Scotland, and some of it is aged in used wine barrels.

      Like

Leave a Reply

