Aladdin Sane (#JusJoJan)

I was not a David Bowie fan in high school, during his “Ziggy Stardust” days. His flamboyant costumes and extravagant lifestyle, as described in Circus Magazine, were a huge turn-off for me, and I let it interfere with my enjoyment of his music. (For that matter, the whole “glam rock” thing was hard for me to stomach.) As I’ve gotten older, I’ve outgrown my distaste for him, and now understand he was just having fun. It’s obvious now that it was just a character, a fact that eluded me when I was 16 and 17.

Aladdin Sane, Bowie’s sixth album and first of two releases in 1973, was the last album he did using the character of Ziggy Stardust, who he “retired” in mid-1973. It was his first album as a legitimate rock star (a status he achieved with his previous album, 1972’s The Rise And Fall of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders from Mars) and generally received good reviews, maybe better in the US than the UK. Nevertheless, it was a #1 album for him in the UK and reached #17 on the Billboard 200, going gold in the US, UK, and France. It was remastered in 2013 for its 40th anniversary. (40th anniversary??? AAAAAHHH!)

Rather than blather on about the album, here is the remastered version in its entirety, for your listening pleasure. Enjoy!


John W. Howell supplied today’s prompt, “sane.” You can visit him at his blog, Fiction Favorites. Just Jot It January is brought to you by the lovely and talented Linda Hill. Be sure and visit her, too.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

5 thoughts on “Aladdin Sane (#JusJoJan)”

      1. I figured as such. I’ve been listening to this album this morning. I don’t recall ever hearing anything from this. There is some excellent stuff here. I like the jazzy influence.

        Arlee Bird
        Tossing It Out

        Like

Leave a Reply

