RIP David Bowie

David-Bowie_Chicago_2002-08-08_photoby_Adam-Bielawski-cropped
Original photo by Photobra|Adam Bielawski, extracted by Wikipedia/Y2kCrazyJoker, licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0

I was just talking about David Bowie yesterday, and I wake up this morning to the news that he has died after a battle with cancer, just days after his 69th birthday and the release of his final album, Blackstar. My condolences go to his wife, Iman, his children, Graham and Alexandra, and everyone who loved him and his music.

Herman Grech, online editor of The Times of Malta, wrote an outstanding obituary for him, and maybe for the artistry he brought to the table. This was the paragraph that might have said it best:

There are tens of thousands of creative minds out there who are not given the necessary time to develop their art, the time to find their voice, their sound, their artistry. So they stick to the same formula which will invariably get airplay, Facebook shares, and so on… In the process, the new musical generation has now become a veritable who’s who of one-hit wonders as ‘artists’ are being manufactured by the likes of Simon Cowell.

What more is there to say?

It seems appropriate to finish with one of his songs, “Changes,” from his 1971 album Hunky Dory.

Godspeed, David Bowie.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

7 thoughts on “RIP David Bowie”

  1. The radio alarm was playing “Ground Control to Major Tom…” and for some reason I felt sad. Crazy, huh? Then a few minutes later the DJ commented on David Bowie’s death and I shivered. A true trailblazer, that guy.

    Like

  2. I’ve always been a fan. This is sad news.

    Btw, I haven’t totally abandoned your blog (if you’ve missed me). There’s so much going on at work that I’m focused only on that for now. New software! Bleh.

    Like

    1. It’s funny, even though I wasn’t a fan during his Ziggy Stardust period, I was affected by this. I think it’s because I featured Aladdin Sane on my blog probably at the same time he died…

      Say no more about software conversions. Been there, done that, have all the t-shirts…

      >

      Like

Leave a Reply

