#JusJoJan: Motivation

Want to know my motivation for blogging every day? It’s this.

Screen Shot 2016-01-14 at 12.41.20

 

This is a screenshot of the calendar that sits in the upper left-hand corner of the page. Notice that, in the picture, the days 1-13 are all highlighted. That means that I’ve posted each day this month. When you look in the upper left-hand corner now, you’ll see that 14 is also highlighted. It’s a trick I learned from lots of bloggers, who learned it from Jerry Seinfeld. When Jerry knew he wanted to write every day, he went out to an office-supply store and bought a big “year at a glance” calendar and a red Magic Marker. Each day he wrote, he marked with an “X”. Pretty soon, it became a contest to see how many days in a row he could write. He said the object was not to break the chain.

I never understood how great a motivation that could be until I did it myself. The first time was with 750Words.com. I got my streak up to 603 days, then missed one. I felt terrible. It was a rush having it tell me “You’re on a 603-day streak!” Now, I wasn’t going to see that anymore, at least not until I had written 603 days in a row again.

I wanted to start again, then realized, I have a blog, why not write there? So far, including today, I’m on a 563-day streak. Believe me, it works.


 

Today’s JusJoJan prompt, “motivation,” was suggested by Aaron Elmore over at his blog. Be sure to visit him. JusJoJan is a creation of Linda Hill, who wouldn’t mind a visit, either.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

1 thought on “#JusJoJan: Motivation”

Leave a Reply

