BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Rag Mop”

Or, if you prefer, “Ragg Mopp.”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

 

“Rag Mop” was a song written by Deacon Anderson and Johnny Lee Wills, the younger brother of Western Swing legend Bob Wills, in 1949. Here’s Johnny Lee’s version; whoever made the video plays it twice, with the first version ending at about 3:00, so you can stop listening then.

The Ames Brothers had a hit with it, as did Doc Sausage and His Mad Lads and Ralph Flanagan. More recently, it was used in a “Beany and Cecil” cartoon (which I can’t seem to find), and it was also used in a “Muppet Show,” where it was sung by a group of rag mops.

Then there are the two versions I decided to put in this battle. Both of these feature some rather fascinating video work that I hope you’ll enjoy, but try not to let it influence your vote.

CONTESTANT #1: Lionel Hampton

The comments on this animation indicate that a “mopp” was hipster slang (1950’s vintage) for a girl, so a “ragg mopp” was a “loose woman.” In case you were wondering what the video was all about. But no matter. Hampton was a master of the vibraphone, as he proved with the Benny Goodman Quartet years before, and put together a swingin’ orchestra for this one.

CONTESTANT #2: The Treniers

Milt Trenier had a nightclub in Chicago, which is how I heard the name. The Treniers were an R&B and “jump blues” band started by Milt’s twin brothers Cliff and Claude. They were originally billed as The Trenier Twins, but they kept adding members. Sounds like the first couple of seconds are chopped off the start of this.

Now, time for a vote…

Which of these two versions of “Rag Mop” did you like better? The big-band sound of Lionel Hampton, or the jump blues of The Treniers? Let me know in the comments below, and I’ll announce the winners next Thursday, January 21.

Then, how about checking out some of the other blogs who might or might not be doing a Battle of the Bands today as well?

Tossing It Out
Far Away Series
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
This Belle Rocks
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Janie Junebug Righting and Editing
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

The lines are now open. Best of luck to Lionel Hampton and The Treniers!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

22 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Rag Mop””

  1. I recall my mother had a hits album back around 1958 that included a version of this song that was popular at the time. Once she had it playing and seemed impressed the I knew the lyrics as I started singing along. I was 7 at the time and really there is not much in the way of lyrical content so there probably wasn’t much reason to be impressed. But you know how mothers can be when their darlings do something they think is cute.

    It’s a fun song. The version by The Treniers is a whole lot of fun–love that performance. But from the standpoint of music I’ve got to go with the great Lionel Hampton.

    Enjoyed this Battle. Such a fun song.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Hi John, this is fun. I remember my Grandfather playing this song. I know what you mean – I was considered a “genius’ for a few days. Ha! I don’t know which artist he played for me. I’ll vote for Lionel Hampton. That animation is killer. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I like the Treniers. Although the animation was cute in the first video, I like the sound of the second. And I couldn’t help but watch the video of the Treniers performing that song and wow, do they look like they were having fun! Please give my vote to the Treniers.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  4. Oh man, this is just too hard to choose. Yes I did watch both videos – too much fun going on not to – and liked both video’s too. I was hoping one would be better than the other. But, both made me smile and tap my feet. I could swing dance to both too. Both music styles are awesome, especially for this song.

    I guess I’ll vote for Lionel, maybe its the video, but likely the beat was just a little more . . racey. Looser πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Happy New Year, John! πŸ™‚

    This is a fun battle. I first heard RAGG MOPP as a kid, in a cartoon show called Beany and Cecil and later named our poodle “Gigi”, after the song. Tough choice, but I’ll go with Lionel Hampton. It just sounded more familiar to my ears.

    Like

  6. This is a fun battle. I always enjoy the music you pick. I am glad you explained what this meant-I had no clue. I prefer the Lionel Hampton sound as I like the big band feel

    Like

  7. Give my vote to Lionel Hampton. This surprises me, since I love any and all forms of blues music. But I just couldn’t hear enough of the musical stylings of The Treniers version. I think if that one had had a bigger sound, it would have swayed my opinion, and vote.

    I know I just started blogging again a month ago, but I came across the opportunity to buy web hosting and my own domain, so I didn’t want to waste it. I moved my blog to reinvintagedgoods.net (for good) and will be blogging there from now on. Would love it if you could visit me there!

    Like

  8. “More recently, it was used in a β€œBeany and Cecil” cartoon” – I remember like it was only yesterday. LOL πŸ™‚
    I like the first version, Lionel Hampton best. Plus the video was fun to watch. Except for the creepy boss. That will haunt my dreams for a few nights. So thanks for that. In the second version, they seemed to be having a lot of fun with the song, unfortunately, I wasn’t.

    Like

  9. John, you do come up with some of the most interesting songs for your battles. This one made me smile. I love the sound of contender #1, please give my vote to Lionel Hampton! Thanks for the fun showdown!

    Like

  10. Good Battle, JOHN. It makes up for that last one you tortured me with. There I was wishing I could vote for… Waterboarding instead. HA!

    OK, seriously… I remember my Pa used to sing this song quite a bit. That’s how I became familiar with it as a little kid.

    Of course I gotta vote for the legendary LIONEL HAMPTON on this one. The second was fun, but the first was… Hampton!

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  11. I didn’t watch either video with that warning. So, I was in no way swayed by the graphics.

    I loved the version by Lionel Hampton so he definitely gets my vote. I thoroughly enjoyed it!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

