The Week That Was for January 17, 2016

Here’s Ann Blyth for Hostess Snack Cakes: Fruit Pies, Twinkies, Ho Ho’s, and new Crumb Cakes.

I always thought these commercials were a little strange, because I had no idea who Ann Blyth was until I saw her in a movie that wasn’t Mildred Pierce. It was like, who is this lady, and why should we believe what she’s saying about Hostess Snack Cakes?

twtw

It’s been a very busy week here at The Sound of One Hand Typing. Just about every day I’ve done at least two posts, the regularly-scheduled one and one for Just Jot It January (“JJJ”).

Monday’s Music Moves Me‘s theme was “song covers performed by new artists featured on TV talent shows.” Of course, I don’t watch any TV talent shows, so I climbed through the Wikipedia summaries of each season of American Idol and discovered that, in Season One, one of the trials they put the contestants through was a Burt Bacharach songfest, so I found the performances of the songs and built them into a playlist. Some of the videos had the judges’ commentaries, which I found demeaning and unfair to the contestants, who were singing songs that were popular before they were born and for which they had no real feel. X-Mas Dolly agreed with me, as did Halfmoon Mollie. Still, most people liked the playlist, anyway.

I took some time on Monday to eulogize David Bowie, who died probably around the same time as I was posting my JJJ entry the day before (the prompt was “sane,” and I posted a video of his album Aladdin Sane). I wasn’t much of a fan of his until after his Ziggy Stardust period, which ended with the aforementioned album. I included a video of “Changes,” which Eclectic Evelyn and I agree was the quintessential Bowie song.

For Monday’s JJJ entry, I belatedly acknowledged the fourth anniversary (or “blogiversary”) of TSOOHT. Thanks to everyone who wished me a happy one or who “liked” the post.

Two for Tuesday featured the music of Yes, one of my favorite bands from the classic progressive rock era of the early 1970’s. It was the first official post in my new Two For Tuesday series, progressive rock artists, which I announced the Friday before. Arlee said they were one of his favorite bands, saying “smart, intricate music that I never tire of hearing.” Michele said she likes them as well, but has to be in the mood for them. I agree with both assessments: when I’m in the mood to hear Yes, I can sit for hours and listen to them. Damien said his brother was a huge Yes fan, and that hearing them brought back memories of the early days of MTV (you know, when MTV actually played music).

The prompt for JJJ on Tuesday was “skulls,” so I talked about our love of true-crime TV, and about one show in which the inciting incident was two boys walking along a riverbed and finding a skull. I imagined what my mother would say if we came home with a skull: “Oh, for God’s sake, put it back!” Brother Pat (who commented on Facebook — yes, you can do that) got a kick out of that, saying he could hear our mother saying that. Fabulous Auntie Jill told the story (again on Facebook) of running out the back door one winter day and seeing the police haul a naked dead body out of a frozen Lake Michigan.

On Wednesdays for Mary, I told of the joys of trying to buy her a cup of hot tea at McDonald’s. Uncle Jack said we should at some point talk about all the blankets and sweaters Mary has made over the years when a cousin or a brother has a new baby in the family. There have been many, because my cousins and brothers have been busy. Mary loves to knit and crochet, and to talk about knitting and crocheting. Fabulous Auntie Jill asked if Mary got the cream she asked for in addition to the tea, and pointed out that cream in tea is an Irish habit. We’ve had our DNA tested, and from the looks of it none of Mary’s ancestors came from anywhere near Ireland, so I don’t know where she picked that up.

I combined my post for One-Liner Wednesday with my post for JJJ. The one-liner was a joke I saw on Twitter right after Christmas, a man saying another Christmas had come and gone, and he still hadn’t gotten any myrrh. The prompt for JJJ was “sacrifice,” which made me think of baseball, of course. Arlee and Lori were both interested by the discussion of myrrh, specifically the way it’s harvested and the parallels with the life of Jesus. The whole subject of myrrh and its significance as one of the gifts of the Magi was not a big part of the curriculum of my religion classes when I was in grade school; I learned about as much from the song “We Three Kings of Orient Are.”

The JJJ prompt for Thursday was “motivation,” which gave me the chance to talk about “keeping the chain going,” how seeing each number on the calendar light up when I post an entry makes me want to make the next one light up. It’s a technique many people attribute to Jerry Seinfeld, and worth trying if you have a hard time doing something every day. That was followed by my Writers Workshop entry, where Mama Kat asked us to expound on what snow days were like when I was a kid. Of course, I grew up in Chicago, where it takes two feet of snow falling in less than eight hours to bring things to a halt. Six inches of snow? Make sure you wear your galoshes to school. I contrasted that with here in the Atlanta area, where the mere threat of snow results in school closings and a run on bread and milk at the grocery store. Although we get one snow a season here, it’s not enough to make a huge investment in snow-removal equipment, at least it wasn’t until a much-heavier-than-expected snow a couple of seasons ago tied the city up but good and resulted in people sleeping in their cars on the Interstates. The Braves are going to commemorate that snow this season, or at least the incident where first baseman Freddie Freeman was stuck and was rescued by future Hall of Fame third baseman Chipper Jones, who drove his ATV to where Freddie was and brought him home. Arlee (who lived in Northwest Indiana as a kid) and Madame Dreamweaver both remembered how significant amounts of snow were never a reason to shut down the schools.

Friday brought another Battle of the Bands. My current Battle features the song “Rag Mop,” and the contestants are Lionel Hampton and The Treniers. You have until 12:01 AM on Thursday of this week to cast your vote, and I’ll announce the winner on Thursday morning. The JJJ prompt for the day was “leadership,” and I talked about my lack thereof.

Of course, I was exhausted by late Friday and didn’t get around to doing a Friday Five. Insteead, I combined Stream of Consciousness Saturday, JJJ, and the Friday Five to create a six-song playlist (The Saturday Six!) off songs with “What” in the title. JoAnna reminded me of another song that had “what” in the title, “What Kind of Fool Am I?” from the musical Stop The World, I Want To Get Off, the music for which was written by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley, the guys who also wrote the classic theme for the movie Goldfinger and the music for Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. While doing that playlist, I discovered a delightful young lady who would have been perfect for Monday’s Music Moves Me earlier in the week; she’ll be the topic of my entry tomorrow.

So that’s The Week That Was. Be sure and join me this coming week for more music, musings, memoir, and madness (I think I have a new subtitle for the blog). See you then!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

2 thoughts on “The Week That Was for January 17, 2016”

  1. I think it’s so amazing the retro commercials available on Youtube. Sometimes in my week I’ll remember old ones, I think I need to start searching for them more, totally cool.

    Like

Leave a Reply

