Elegance? #JusJoJan

I hear the word “elegance,” and it brings to mind elephants or elements…

320px-African_Bush_Elephant
Source: Muhammad Mahdi Karim/Wikipedia (GFDL 1.2 License)

 

 

I hear the word “elegance” and, for some reason, hotels come to mind. When I traveled a lot, I spent a lot of time in hotels, some elegant, some not quite so elegant. A lot of times in smaller towns, the hotel was kind of run-down, but it was the only place in town, and usually the room was in decent order. It got to the point where, as long as the toilet, shower, TV, and heating/air conditioning unit all worked and the bed was comfortable and bug-free, I was fine. That was true whether it was in a downtown area or out in the boonies somewhere.

There was a time that the company I worked for preferred you stay at the motel down the street, which had been a Rodeway Inn, when you came to Atlanta. Usually you ended up in “the dorm,” a three-story brick building at the back of the property. They usually saved the poolside rooms for better-paying guests. If there weren’t rooms available there, they would put you up at the Ritz-Carlton Buckhead, which had just been built when I started working there and was really posh. I didn’t care that I was at a fancy hotel. Like I said, if the toilet, shower, TV, and heat and air-conditioning worked, and the bed was comfortable and bug-free, I was happy whether I was at the Rodeway or the Ritz.

I was staying at the Ritz once, and a bunch of us were going to go out for the evening. The elevators all had mirrors in them, so you could see everyone riding with you. I got on the elevator, the doors closed, and who’s standing behind me but Sophia Loren.

Sophia-Loren-HQ-sophia-loren-10175592
Source: Fanpop.com

 

I guess she was in Atlanta promoting her line of perfume. Anyway, I did what anyone would do: I turned around and said “Hi!” And she did what anyone would do when someone says “Hi!” to you: she said “Hi!” back. I stoppeed before reaching the lobby, so I got out, turned and said “Bye!” And she said “Bye!” back. My one brush with fame.

Now, you talk about elegance… She was going to a reception and was wearing a long gown, and the two guys with her (probably bodyguards… oh, they said “Hi!” and “Bye!” too) were in tuxedos. She’s as tall as I am when she isn’t wearing heels, so she fairly towered over me, and her bodyguards. But she looked gorgeous, and elegant. The epitome of elegance.


 

The elegant Kelli at Forty, C’est Fantastique! supplied today’s prompt word, “elegance.” Just Jot It January is hosted by the elegant Linda Hill.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “Elegance? #JusJoJan”

  1. John, that’s amazing you met Sophia Loren! I would like to meet her someday. She’s such a beautiful, elegant woman. I loved her in the movie Houseboat when I was a kid. Sometime ago, I bought a copy for our Blu-Ray/DVD library and it was great watching it again. Your simple response to Ms. Loren cracked me up. Were you too stunned to ask for her autograph?

    Like

    1. I didn’t actually meet her as much as ride the same elevator with her. She had two guys with her who quite possibly would have broken my arm if I did anything more than say hi. I could tell she was on her way to a formal occasion and probably wasn’t in the mood to talk to every stranger who happened on the elevator, especially a portly guy from Chicago dressed in his goin’-out-drinkin’ clothes…

      Like

  2. I think of ball gowns and ballet when I hear elegance, but hotels could also be a part of that… It’s always cool when you meet someone and they’re very approachable. πŸ™‚ I always had fun serving coffee to Sean Penn and Lucas when they popped into the cafe I worked at.

    Like

    1. My philosophy is always to treat everyone politely and not let on I know who they are. Sophia Loren, on the other hand, was a bit of shock. An international film star and one of the world’s most beautiful women (and she is; that’s not a trick with the camera) riding on the same elevator with you is hard to ignore. I’m sure if I had tried to shake her hand one of the men with her would have broken my arm…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s really cool that you exchanged “hi” with Sophia Loren! She seems like a really elegant person. When we have celebs on the airplane I always wonder if they are nice people. It seems like Ms. Loren was. Thanks for the mention πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I’m sure she was just being polite, which in this day and age is a rare thing, especially with celebrities. She doesn’t seem to be the kind that would turn her bodyguards loose on me. I worked in a retail store when I was in college and used to see a lot of local celebs shopping (i.e. newspeople for the local TV stations). Most of them were nice, but there was one who made it clear he was a big shot and about ran me ragged. But then there were other customers who did that, so it shouldn’t be a surprise.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True there are some rotten apples in every barrel. I worked at a movie theater when I was in college and we had one rent the whole theater once. He was super rude and I think less of his movies now 😦

        Like

Leave a Reply

