Compelled #jusJoJan

I felt compelled recently to go through the files on my computer and either delete them, move them to Evernote, or otherwise arrange them so I can actually find what I’m looking for. Late last night, I finished digging through all the files in my Documents folder.

It’s amazing the stuff you accumulate on your hard drive over the years. I still had files that I moved from the last Windows desktop nine years ago (shortly before I had my stroke), receipts and manuals for things we no longer have, notes I wrote to myself that I had intended as springboards for stories, a whole bunch of files Mary had created and can’t remember, folders for software that I have siting around and never use because so many things can be done in the browser, you name it. I got a lot of things moved to Evernote and deleted from the hard drive, and a lot more just deleted off the hard drive because they’re no longer relevant.

My next task is to do the same for the files in my Downloads folder. I actually have several iterations of the Downloads folder; every few months I copy it to my external drive and delete everything out of it, only to fill it up again. I have no idea what’s in the folders. Or the contents of the Pictures folder, or the Movies folder, or any folder, for that matter. I look at some of the crap I’ve kept and say to myself, “Why did I keep this crap?”

And I figured it out: it’s the “I’d rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it” mentality. I’ve always been that way. My mother was the same; when we cleaned her house out after she died, we found half a dozen curling irons on a shelf in a closet, none of which worked. No idea why she was keeping them; it’s not as though you can have them repaired.


 

Thanks to Willowdot21 for suggesting today’s prompt, “compelled.” And thanks to Linda Hill for running JusJoJan.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “Compelled #jusJoJan”

  1. I’ve learned the hard way too many times not to throw things out, because even if you haven’t used them for ten years, you’ll need them the week after you toss ’em. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

