The Friday Five: Songs about Weather

FriddayFive

 

When I looked at Instagram today, I learned it was National Weather Persons’ Day. I started thinking of all the weather people I knew, and was going to list all of them, but every time I thought of one, that led me to several others, and pretty soon I had to abandon that idea, or you’d be sitting here reading names of weather people. Instead, I chose to put together a short list of some of my favorite songs that feature weather terms in the title. You’ll note there are no songs about rain in the list; I have a long playlist with songs about rain, which you can hear here. I also have a playlist for summer, and another for songs mentioning “sun” in the title. Anyway, here’s this week’s playlist.

  1. Warm Front – Billy Joe Walker Jr.: In addition to being a songwriter and record producer, Billy Joe is a session guitarist who has seven New Age albums to his credit. This is the title track from his sixth, the only one that made the New Age chart. Sad, too; he’s an excellent guitarist.
  2. Windy and Warm – Doc Watson: Speaking of excellent guitarists, Arthel “Doc” Watson was one of the best finger- and pick-style guitarists in country and bluegrass music. This one by John D. Loudermilk is a classic and one of the first songs guitar players trying fingerstyle learn.
  3. Suzy Snowflake – Rosemary Clooney: This usually comes up around Christmas, and I usually share the stop-action cartoon version that was created in the 1950’s by Centaur Productions, which I yank out of the vault every Christmas. Here’s a different version by the lovely Ms. Clooney, who had a beautiful voice.
  4. Autumn Leaves – Joe Pass: One of the better solo jazz guitar players in his day, Joe backed a number of singers, including Ella Fitzgerald. He’s also known among guitarists for his instructional videos and books.
  5. Sunny – Bobby Hebb: Bobby wrote and recorded this song after his brother, who was called “Sunny,” was murdered. A beautiful and uplifting way to remember a beloved brother.

So, that’s your Friday Five for February 5, 2016. What are some of your favorite weather-related songs?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

10 thoughts on “The Friday Five: Songs about Weather”

  1. “Singin’ in the Rain” – Gene Kelly. “Stormy Weather” – various artists. Kelly singing and dancing the song in the movie of the same name is one of my favorite movie scenes of all time

    Like

Leave a Reply

