Valentine’s Day The Week That Was

Here’s Virginia Graham for Bosco Milk Amplifier. “I love Bosco, that’s the drink for me!”

Virginia Graham had a talk show that was more a coffee klatsch, but it ran well into the 1970’s and was a mainstay on the WGN morning schedule for years.

twtw

 

Happy Valentine’s Day to those of you who celebrate it. For those who might have given up candy for Lent, today’s a free day. Knock yourselves out! I’ve been less than successful with my Lenten resolutions (read 25 pages a day and no Facebook except for Sundays), but the season’s only four days old. You can look at those four days as a tenth of the season, or you can say there are still 36 days. Whatever.

Anyway, here’s the week in review:

MONDAY

  • The theme for Monday’s Music Moves Me, one song from the Super Bowl and the rest country, escaped me. I didn’t realize that, by one song from the Super Bowl, they meant one from a Super Bowl halftime show. Not being a football fan, I’ve never seen a Super Bowl halftime show, so instead I chose one of the most unintentionally funny videos ever made, “The Super Bowl Shuffle,” done in 1986 by “duh Bearss,” the Super Bowl XX Champion Chicago Bears. Thanks nonetheless to X-Mas Dolly, who didn’t chew me out too badly. Ed suggested “Brian’s Song,” also known as “The Hands of Time,” the theme from the movie Brian’s Song (the original, starring James Caan and Billy Dee Williams), but that wouldn’t have fit, either. Folks still liked the country music I chose, i.e. country from the 1960’s and 1970’s, which is a whole lot different from country today. Kisma said it reminded her of her grandmother’s farm. It’s natural; farming and country music go hand-in-hand.

TUESDAY

  • Two for Tuesday featured The Moody Blues, another progressive rock band. Kip was surprised that “I’m Just A Singer (In A Rock ‘n’ Roll Band)” didn’t do better on the charts. While the album it was from, Seventh Sojourn, reached #1 in the US and #5 in the UK, the single only got to #10 on the Hot 100. I pointed him at the Top 100 Singles in 1973, which I felt was as good a way to explain the phenomenon as any. Another name for progressive rock was album-oriented rock (AOR), and the Moodys were always an album-oriented band.

WEDNESDAY

  • I used One-Liner Wednesday to eulogize Dan Hicks, best known for his 1970’s band Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks, who passed away on the 6th. I also used the occasion to develop a badge for One-Liner Wednesday, which you can see toward the end of the article. Tonight at midnight Eastern Standard Time is the cutoff, if you’re interested in designing a badge, and voting will take place tomorrow. As simple and text-based as it is, Linda called it “snazzy” and Joey told me it gets her vote. I’m no graphic artist, but I’ve learned that, in this job, you pretty much have to be one.
  • For Wednesdays for My Wife, I recounted the story of my friend, whom I identified only as “J,” and the story of him going arse-over-teacup down the stairs at school while he was carrying two full boxes of pennies from a taffy apple sale. I ended up identifying the object of the story to my Uncle Jack, who was going crazy trying to figure out who it was (I think he thought it was I or one of my brothers), which drew a snarky comment from my brother. Hilary enjoyed the last line of the story, and also that I changed the name of the feature “Wednesdays for My Wife.” The name of the article, “Pennies from Ignatius,” was a play on “Pennies from Heaven,” which Linda figured out. Mary named the article, and that was what she had in mind.

THURSDAY

  • Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop offered me an opportunity to share my favorite YouTube channels. Most of them were either documentary sites or old TV sites, sometimes both. One of the channels I chose was that of Captain Bijou, who got thrown off YouTube for “repeated copyright violations,” so I shared from his new Dailymotion channel. Naturally, the video I shared was then removed from Dailymotion for copyright violation. (Today’s commercial is also from his DM site.) If you get a chance, watch the video I posted from the Classic Airliners site; it’s a promo film from Aeroflot Airlines, circa 1970. I think you’ll get a kick out of it. Linda wondered aloud what age group is watching these old documentaries. I’m sixty (next month, anyway), so I guessed that Baby Boomers and what remains of the Greatest Generation are the key audience. YouTube is a remarkable resource. Ally remembered Sanka from her mother drinking it, but had never seen any of the ads from the late 1970’s that featured Robert Young as the pitchman. A lot of them, of course, are on YouTube. Naila, who loves YouTube, said she especially liked the video about dating do’s and don’ts, and Mama Kat herself said, were we to live together, we’d likely be fighting over the remote.

FRIDAY

  • The Friday Five, naturally, featured five songs that had the word “valentine” in the title. Arlee said that, while he doesn’t care for the oft-covered standard “My Funny Valentine,” said he really liked the version done by the Don Shirley Trio in the late 1950’s, a time of incredible experimentation by jazz artists. Shirley’s version was no exception; it started out as an arco ballad (arco referring to the bass player playing it with a bow) and went into sections of quartal harmony. Give it a listen if you get a chance. Brendan mentioned that Chaka Khan reminded him of the lead singer from Rufus. I’m pretty sure he was kidding me; Chaka Khan was the lead singer from Rufus.

SATURDAY

  • The prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday was “tire,” so I talked about my retirement and how I’m blogging as a way to stay busy, and talked a little about my plans to take my Wednesday memoirs and self-publish them. I ended with an appeal for assistants (i.e. “minions”) to help me sort through the blogs assigned to me as part of my duties as a co-host of the A to Z Challenge. I have several now, including a couple of part-timers, and can always use more help. In other words, I’d love to have you join me. (For those of you who volunteered, I’ll be emailing you shortly, assuming I have your correct address.) The more people we have, the fewer blogs per capita we need to check.

Well, I’ve gone on long enough here, so that’s this week’s edition of The Week That Was. Tomorrow, a Battle of the Bands as well as MMMM. Thanks to all of you who stopped in and commented, and I hope you make it back this week.

Incidentally, Stomperdad and I had a conversation this week about pingbacks. (Evidently, this applies only to WordPress blogs. Blogger doesn’t do pingbacks, one of the reasons I prefer WordPress to Blogger.) It seems that, if you just link back to the main page of the blog, the blogger doesn’t receive a pingback; the link has to go to a specific post for the pingback to work. From now on, when I link back to a blog, I’ll link back to the most recent post by that blogger, whether on WordPress or Blogger. I think it’s what we used to call a “best practice.”

See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day The Week That Was”

  1. Thanks for the shout out. When I link to other’s blogs, like you, I’ll be linking to their most recent post. Or if I’m giving a more general shout out, I’ll link to their about page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

