BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Come Together” #botb

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

 

“Come Together” was inspired by Timothy Leary’s failed campaign for Governor of California against Ronald Reagan. John Lennon wrote it as a campaign song, and some say he put a reference to each of the Beatles in the song. It’s also suggested that it has a “single, pariah-like protagonist” and that Lennon was simply creating “another sardonic self-portrait.” The Beatles released it in October 1969 as a two-sided single with George Harrison’s “Something.” I’ve heard that the release was the only time the band ever released a record because they needed the money. It was on the charts in the US for eighteen weeks and reached #1. It was released in the UK several weeks after the US release, and only reached #4, probably because the BBC refused to play it because of the line “He shoot Coca-Cola,” which they felt was product placement. It was their eigtheenth #1 song, breaking Elvis Presley’s record of seventeen #1’s.

If you’ve never heard the song (where have you been?), here it is, for comparison purposes. This recording introduces part of “Dear Prudence” over the last thirty seconds or so; try and ignore it.

This article was valuable in my choosing the contestants for today. Of course, YouTube blocked many of the versions due to copyright and other restrictions, but they failed to block the #1 and #15 versions, and they’ll be our two contestants today.

CONTESTANT #1: The Eurythmics

The Eurythmics covered the song on their 1987 album Savage.

CONTESTANT #2: Soundgarden

Soundgarden gave it a grunge-metal sound for their 1990 single Hands All Over.

Now, it’s time to vote…

So did UpVenue get it right by making the Eurythmics #15 and Soundgarden #1, or would you have swapped them around? Vote, please, down in the comments, and give me some idea why you preferred one over the other. Voting ends at 12:01 AM next Monday, February 22, and the winners will be announced later that day.

After judging this battle, be sure and visit the other blogs conducting their Battles of the Bands today, which include some or all of the following:

Tossing It Out
Far Away Series *
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands *
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
This Belle Rocks
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Janie Junebug Righting and Editing
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

* Check these blogs for further updates!

Good luck to both The Eurythmics and Soundgarden!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

20 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Come Together” #botb”

  1. Oh I definitely would’ve swapped those ranks around!! I much more preferred the Eurythmics! I liked Soundgarden fine but the Eurythmics really did a great job with the song. They get my vote.
    Great battle!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. I learned something about the Beatles song so thank you for that:) I give it to The Eurythmics! They are just so cool and I love their rendition so much better

    Like

  3. Wow. This week is really turning out to be a nostalgic week for me. Another of my favorite songs. Thank you!

    I like that Soundgarden did their best to put their sound to it, but in the end, Eurythmics won me over. My vote goes tor Eurythmics.

    Great battle!

    ~Mary Burris
    Jingle Jangle Jungle

    Like

  4. I wasn’t sure about the Eurythmics version when I first heard it. But after listening to Soundgarden, I decided I liked the Eurythmics version after all. Soundgarden just didn’t appeal to me. Eurythmics was different and original. So they get my vote.

    Like

  5. UpVenue definitely got it right in my opinion. To me, Soundgarden’s version just blows The Eurythmics’ cover straight out of the water, then up, up, and away. I do like both bands, but have a much deeper love for hard rock/metal, and Soundgarden are one of my faves. Give my vote to Soundgarden!

    Like

  6. JOHN ~
    Two vastly different styles in the match-up. Well, I dislike the Eurythmics, and I dislike Grunge Metal, so just looking at the two contestants I thought: Sheesh! What am I going to do here?

    But, as it turned out, I did think the EURYTHMICS version was pretty darned good – particularly considering that it was the Eurythmics.

    Listening to their recording I kept thinking about how in a few places some blasts from a small horn section would have worked perfectly for the overall tone of the song, and adding another cool element to it. Had they added at least an alto sax and a trumpet, they would have had a Top Ten hit on their hands, methinks.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  7. Sorry I’m so late to the party, been a bit under the weather. since I live in The Sierras, and we’ve just been blasted by a terrific winter storm, I have that hungover low pressure headache today, so, not a stellar listen on either version. I’m gonna have to go Eurythmics on this one as I found it less pounding to my poor brain.

    I did have to chuckle about this being a campaign song for good ole timothy Leary. Seems to me it could apply to a number of today’s candidates as well. Ha, ha, ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

