MONDAY’S MUSIC MOVES ME: Motown!

Photobucket

 

Another MMMM that caught me by surprise. Up until I started getting MMMM entries in my feed this morning, I thought it was another Freebie week. Just as well; I had no idea what I was going to do, anyway. If Motown hadn’t been today’s theme, it would have been a theme for me at some point, anyway. You’ll see why in a minute or two.

  1. Band of Gold – Freda Payne: The beautiful Ms. Payne had a #3 hit and a gold record with this in 1970, and she became an overnight sensation. What that means, as in this case, is that she had been recording for six years, her first album having come out in 1964, during the British Invasion.
  2. War – Edwin Starr: When this came out in 1970, the girls I had gone to grammar school with played the grooves off it, because they loved to dance to it. Asa a result, I had heard it quite enough by the end of my freshman year. But I haven’t heard it in years, and that’s why I’m playing it here.
  3. Someday We’ll Be Together – Diana Ross & The Supremes: This was their last song together, and their final #1 on the Hot 100. It was also the last #1 on the Hot 100 in the 1960’s. Diana Ross shares a birthday next month with my mother.
  4. Ball of Confusion – The Temptations: Some classic “psychedelic soul” from one of the great vocal groups of our time. It reached #6 that year.
  5. Taurus – Dennis Coffey and the Detroit Guitar Band: Dennis was a member of The Funk Brothers, who backed up most of the Motown records in the 1960’s, including all of the records above. He brought a hard-rock sound to the records produced by Norman Whitfield, including distortion, tape loops, and wah-wah. This was the follow-up to his 1971 hit, “Scorpio.” It reached #18 on the Hot 100 and #11 on the US Black Singles chart in 1972.
  6. Walk On, Don’t Look Back – Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons: Frankie and the group recorded one album for Motown’s subsidiary MoWest, Chameleon, in 1972. This was released as a single in August 1972 but failed to chart. Motown was the second R&B label to feature The Four Seasons, the first being Chicago’s Vee Jay Records (1962-1966) until that label folded.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for February 22, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

18 thoughts on “MONDAY’S MUSIC MOVES ME: Motown!”

  1. Of course you can invite 100’s of your friends let’s have a block (blog) party… more the merrier… Are you kiddin’ me? YOU’RE THE BEST!!! INVITE AS MANY AS YOU WANT! ROCK ON JOHN!!!! LOVE THE TUNE! MAN, THESE WERE MY PARTY DAYS WITH THE GIRLS…. I SO REMEMBER THIS ONE!

    Like

Leave a Reply

