Help Wanted: Minions! #atozchallenge

This may seem a little late in the game for this, seeing as how the A to Z Challenge begins in 26 days, but it would appear that I have a few open positions open for people who want to assist me in my job as a co-host for the Challenge, a “minion” in common parlance.

Your job, should you choose to accept it, would be to visit assigned blog during the Challenge and ensure that

  • They’re actually doing the challenge, and not just using it to sell cheap drugs, sunglasses, flip-flops, or memberships in sketchy dating sites;
  • They aren’t publishing adults-only content if they haven’t told us they’re going to;
  • They’re displaying the official Blogging from A to Z April Challenge 2016 badge on their blog page (this is optional but highly recommended);
  • They’re more or less up-to-date with the entries (e.g. if it’s “G” day, the theme of their post starts with the letter “G”).

You don’t have to confront people if they’re not following the rules; just let me know and I’ll handle the confrontations.

Benefits include the opportunity to visit lots of blogs, a really cool badge (like the one above, or another model I don’t have with me right now), and my eternal gratitude.

If interested, contact me in the comments below or at j o h l t at y a h o o dot c o m. Thanks!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “Help Wanted: Minions! #atozchallenge”

  1. I’m willing to help out. Can you tell me more? I’m a little nervous to commit because I still have to do my taxes — But I hope to have them done this month so I can be totally free in April. How many blogs will we be required to visit per day? And do you supply a list? Thanks,

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. First of all, thank you! I can really use all the help I can get.

      As of right now, I’m responsible to check on 100 blogs per day. This will probably increase when more people sign up, so realistically that number might grow to 200. I’m assigned four blocks of 50 blogs each, and right now two of those ranges have no one signed up (it’s based on the sign-up list). Two of the minions I have now have time limitations and can only check ten blogs a day, which means we’ll have up to 180 blogs to check between five of us (the other three full-timers, you and me), which is 36. If we get more people to help, that number goes down.

      How does that sound?

      Like

  2. Yikes! That’s a lot! I have time limitations too because I’m caring for both my mom and my dad. My mom just had open-heart surgery. I can probably do 15-20 blogs per day but will commit to 15. Does that help you out?? The first weekend in April I’ll be working a morning shift at a psychic fair so won’t be home until 3pm so wouldn’t be able to get started before then. I might be able to get to a few blogs during my shift but the WiFi at this place is always iffy…
    You can reach me via email at michele@angelsbark.com

    Like

    1. That’s 15 less that I have to do. So I can count you in? πŸ™

      I didn’t realize that your folks were ailing. Sadly, this is the time of life for it. Both my and Mary’s folks are gone now. You’d think it would make things easier, but it doesn’t…

      Like

      1. Count me in! Let’s make it easy and let me go ahead and commit to doing 20 blogs per day. I like to try to get to that many each day anyway to comment so I’ll just make those my daily visits.

        Yes, it is that time of life. A sad time. What time and aging does to a person is really sad. My folks came down in November to spend the winter with me and then my mom ended up having this big heart surgery so they’ll likely be here until June. I don’t mind. It is my honor to be of service. And I’m happy to be able to help them. I like taking care of them. Plus my folks are really cool and we all get along very well, for the most part. Sometimes my Dad can be a bit grouchy but we deal with it… πŸ™‚
        So sorry that yours are no longer with you. I dread the day I have to face that…

        talk soon John. I’m sure I’ll be hearing from you soon!

        Like

  3. I do not want this job, but I am glad someone is assigned to do this. I must have visited 200+ ‘A-Z blog links’ last April, and some of them weren’t even blogs. It was annoying. Not to mention the number of people who were on B on day 6 or whatever. I began to avoid anything that wasn’t WP.
    I haven’t decided if I’m A-Zing, but if I do, I’ll be happy to narc in an unofficial capacity.

    Like

    1. That’s a common complaint, that people sign up and either don’t start, don’t keep up, or never intended on doing it in the first place. I complained about it two years ago, and we started checking last year. It was a little rough at first, but we ended up taking a bunch of blogs off. If you are buzzing around and find someone like that, let me know and I’ll pass it on to the person in charge. That would be a huge help. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d be happy to take 11 a day off your hands, John (Had to be different, didn’t I?!). I’d lve to say i could commit to more, but, well, LIfe.

    If it will help, let me know. I’d love to be one of Holton’s Heroes, even if it was just for the cool name. Since it’s also a good cause, even better! =D

    Like

      1. If it’s yahoo, it will. If it’s gmail, well, it would, but I don’t look at it, so that would slow things down.

        Just ping me here when you send it, and I’ll keep my eyes open for it.

        Like

  5. Hi John! I’ve always wanted to be a minion… Does this mean I’m part of an Evil Empire? Just kidding. I’m also participating in the A to Z Challenge for my fifth year in a row, so this should be a good way to actually get to know more bloggers, instead of just doing the usual “hi and bye” runners. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Evil empire? Yeah, okay… 😝 Seriously, I’d love to have you join us. Is the email address you used on the comment a good one to reach you? I’ll send out an email to everyone probably this evening or tomorrow. Just want to be sure you’ll get it… welcome to Holton’s Heroes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

