The Eastern Standard Time Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Lucky Strike cigarettes. L.S./M.F.T. – Lucky Strike means fine tobacco.

It was always great fun to see an empty Lucky Strike pack on the ground, step on it and hit the person you were with, saying “Lucky Strike! No strike backs!” I know a guy who lost his girlfriend that way…

twtw

 

If you haven’t already, be sure and vote in this week’s Battle of the Bands. I’ll announce the result tomorrow, so you have until midnight Eastern Standard Time to cast your vote. Right now, Jackie Gleason is beating Red Norvo like a rented mule in Battle “Tenderly.”

Everyone seemed to enjoy the story of my grandfather being caught with his barn door open, which I told for Wednesdays for My Wife. Hicks was a real character. One evening he came to our house for dinner and gave the three of us the finger after we said Grace.

Food posts always generate a lot of discussion here, and my Writer’s Workshop contribution about my Top Ten Favorite Candies was no exception. Unerstand, those were the first ten that came to mind; generally, if it’s candy, I like it. Kip reminded me that I went through a Circus Peanuts phase, which reminded me I also went through a malted milk balls phase. Ally and I had a fun discussion about candy bars, and she brought up Payday, another of my faves. I asked her if she remembered Zagnut, which as I remember was like a Butterfinger with coconut in place of the chocolate. Arlee was reminded of the song “I Want Candy” by The Strangeloves…

Hey, it’s on Bang! Records, the same label Neil Diamond recorded for, at least at the beginning. Birgit said Kit Kat was her favorite, and it reminded me of the commercial with an old woman and a lion. Wish I could find it; it was hilarious.

Anyway, the rest of the week was good, too. I’m just trying to keep this short.

Don’t forget, Daylight Saving Time begins for the US and Canada next Sunday morning at 2 AM. We lose an hour of sleep as a result, but that’s what the law says.

And that’s The Week That Was for Sunday, March 6, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

3 thoughts on “The Eastern Standard Time Week That Was”

  1. ooh, Zagnuts!!!! I love Zagnuts. They don’t make those anymore do they? Do you remember Clark bars? Those were amazing too…
    The story about your grandfather was really funny. Poor guy.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. I do remember Clark bars. They were also kind of like Butterfingers. There are a few “vintage candy” sites out there that sell brands like Clark, Zagnut, and other candy you can’t find in stores anymore. OldTimeCandy.com is one of them, and there are lots of others.

      I have a few other Hicks stories that I’ll probably tell.

      Like

Leave a Reply

