Perchance To Dream…

 

I like this prompt from Mama Kat…

Write a blog post inspired by the word: sleep.

 

I was a fan of The Beatles from pretty much when they made their first appearance on The Ed Sullivan Show in February 1964, and think all their albums are works of art. One of my favorites is The Beatles, better known as “the white album.” I like all the songs on it (and don’t mind “Revolution 9,” not so much a song as a sound experiment by John & Yoko), especially the ones on Record 1, Side 2. Here’s one of them… “I’m So Tired.”

I don’t sleep well, and haven’t since my stroke nine years ago. I wake up several times during the night to answer nature’s call, and my brain kicks into high gear.

I do my best to make sure it doesn’t happen too often: I have my phone charging most nights, and have the sound of rain going all night on my iPod. Still, there are times when I just can’t get back to sleep.

I read somewhere that it’s normal to wake up in the middle of the night for an hour or more, and that people used to do this all the time. Some would even get up and go visit neighbors, or have something to eat, or just lie in bed and contemplate the great mysteries of life. I’ve tried treating it that way; the problem is, my brain kicks into high gear and doesn’t let me sleep.

When I do sleep well, I have some pretty vivid dreams. It’s like the memory of everywhere I’ve ever been mashes up together to sometimes comedic effect. I’ll be walking down the hall in my old high school, walk into a room, and be in a hotel lobby. I’ll walk into the bathroom in the hotel lobby and be on a CTA train. I’ll get off the train and be in my bedroom on Glenwood Avenue, where I lived in grammar school. I’ll go into the closet and find myself in an industrial kitchen, or maybe it’s a boiler room.

I really ought to write down my dreams immediately upon waking. Problem is, my writing hand was affected by the stroke. I could put a note in Evernote on my phone, but I really don’t want to do that. Then I know I’ll be awake for the night.

On the other hand, maybe it’s best I just remember the really crazy stuff.

What are your nights like? Do you remember your dreams?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

10 thoughts on “Perchance To Dream…”

  1. My life is much more “A Day in the Life” when it comes to Beatles songs, heh.
    Unfortunately, I know all about sleeplessness and the battle to sleep, and vivid dreams. Perhaps some of us are still diurnal and some of us meant to be awake longer in the night than others.
    The first week of January, I started using earplugs and it has greatly improved my sleep behavior. I fall asleep faster than I ever have in my life and rarely wake up in the night. I curse a world that requires me sleeping on its time, and through the night, instead of on my own, but I am glad the earplugs help.
    I can’t escape the vivid dreams, and most days I’m glad to have forgotten them by lunch.
    I kept an analog dream journal for a few months in college. I seldom got back to sleep. Like you, I wouldn’t dare to turn on my phone and try typing!

    Like

    1. “A Day in the Life” is a masterpiece. The whole “Sgt. Pepper” album might be the greatest rock album of all time. In my humble opinion, of course…

      I have the opposite problem: I need noise to go to sleep. I have tinnitus, which my doctor tells me could be caused by arthritis in one or more of the tiny bones in my ear.

      I rarely have nightmares, thank heaven. Most times, my vivid dreams are welcome distractions, and there are times when I hope I go to sleep the next night and rejoin the same dream, because I was having such a good time. A lot of mine are pretty dull: mopping the floor…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your sleep patterns are almost exactly like mine. Most mornings I will wake up at 3:30 am and get back to sleep around 4:30. My dreams are a mishmash of old acquaintances and experiences. My former assistant told me when she reached about 30 that her dreams would also be about high school acquaintances and experiences she had in her youth.
    I’ve been fighting against this pattern for quite a while, but maybe I should be like you and treat it as something normal most people go through.

    Like

  3. I had forgotten about that Beatles song! I really like it.
    I dream all the time and I love going to sleep because I have very vivid dreams that are usually quite good. It’s like I go to the movies every night, my dreams are often great stories. But like you, I have a hard time remembering most of them. I remember them for the first few minutes of being awake, enough to be able to piece some of the story together, but then my brain kicks in and there goes the dream memory.
    I too have often thought of putting a notebook next to my bed but I just never seem to get around to doing that…
    May you have wonderful dreams tonight and every night…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. There were some great songs on the white album, but all some people remember are “Blackbird,” “Helter Skelter,” and “Revolution #9” (10-15 minutes of noise courtesy of Yoko Ono).

      I had a wild night last night dreamwise, and can remember some chunks pretty vividly. There are times I fall asleep wanting to pick up where I left off the night before. Ever do that?

      Like

  4. I would feel so frustrated if I woke up and my brain was ready for the day. Right now I read myself to sleep every night, barely remember my dreams in the morning and then hit snooze for as long as humanly possible in the morning. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’ve never been a snooze button kind of guy. I can remember waking up, knowing the alarm would ring at 6 AM, seeing it was 5:45, and closing my eyes, determined to squeeze the last fifteen minutes in. Sometimes I actually made it…

      Like

Leave a Reply

